Back in the (sanitized and socially distanced) Saddle again…

While I am working remotely from home, I thought this would be a good chance to get back into blogging a bit… and then, what do you know, Joyce reinstated the Hodgepodge! What fun!  So, here you go – it has been a while, but lets have at it shall we?

1. Howdy Hodgepodgers. It’s kind of fun to be back, isn’t it?  Last time we met was September, 2018. Tell me something big-important-happy-or sad that’s happened in your life since that date. Just one thing. We don’t know how long this current isolation situation is going to last and we might need to dole out our news bit by bit.

Wow, a lot has happened since that date!  If I have to pick only one… probably the biggest was getting a new boss at work.  That tends to affect everything!

2. Might as well get this out of the way early on…COVID-19. On a scale of 1-5 how serious are you about keeping your distance? Explain. fyi-I didn’t create the scale but have seen it several places online. Also fyi-we won’t only have virus related questions each week, but for this first one it feels right.

1-Not at all, living normally
2-Cautious but still going out
3-Going out as needed, mostly home or working from home, still seeing friends/family
4-Extremely limited, only going out when unavoidable, minimal contact with people
5-Full lockdown, no one in or out

 

For the most part, 4.  Not going out anywhere except to the store, and even then very rarely.  Working from home except when the boss calls and gives me an assignment that has to be done from the office.  (Luckily everyone else is also working from home, so not many people around)
3. Raise your hand if you think you might run out of steam in the cooking department before it’s all said and done? What’s something delcious you’ve cooked or eaten in your own kitchen in the past week?

I’m actually enjoying having more time to cook!  That’s one major thing I miss about not being a full time housewife – not that I cooked all the time before, but now that I work full time, it’s exhausting to come home at 5:30 and have to immediately pull together a meal.  SO… during this forced “stay at home” time, I’m trying to cook my way through Joanna Gaines’ cookbook!

Here is one recipe I made the other night that was SO good!

https://diyways.com/once-you-try-joanna-gaines-recipe-youll-want-chicken-pot-pie-every-day/

4. What’s a television show or movie you’ve seen recently (it could be an oldie) that you really liked?

My hubby and I watched “Rumor Has It” the other night – it has been out for a long time, but because it takes place in pasadena, CA (which is where my family is from), I enjoy the scenery, the making fun of upper society pasadena, and guessing with my cousins on whether their grandmother could have actually been Mrs Robinson from The Graduate!  (Totally could have been, is our consensus!  What a scandal! 😉

5. Share something funny you’ve seen or heard this week.

I saw a hilarious meme (that I can’t post here because, technology hassles today…)

Anyway – it said

“I’m giving up drinking for a month.

Sorry, bad punctuation.

I’m giving up. Drinking for a month.”

6. Insert your own random thought here

All joking aside, I’m kind of liking the increased family time – with a college kiddo, a senior in high school, and a freshman in high school, we don’t often get a lot of time together… well, thanks to the imposed restrictions, we’ve been playing more games together, watching movies, getting to know our daughter’s boyfriend better (our only concession to the “no contact with the outside” – they are allowed only to see each other and only at each other’s houses, no going out anywhere), etc.  Working from home has been an adjustment, but not horrible… in the scheme of things, we have power (not always the case when you have a hurricane or something else), and actually the sense of unity we have with the whole world over this isn’t something to be taken lightly.  God is very much so present and working in the midst of this.

 

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

2 thoughts on “Back in the (sanitized and socially distanced) Saddle again…”

  1. I’m stopping by from The Hodgepodge. I, too, haven’t blogged in a while. I think it will be a welcome distraction. I remember being in your phase of life, and it’s busy (and often challenging) with three kids the ages of yours. I’m glad y’all are getting a chance to slow down and spend more time together. Take care, and stay safe!

    Like

  2. I’m glad you’re seeing a bright side Sally. So nice to see your name pop up in the HP list today. I’m a bit rusty too, but this feels like a good time to re-connect with blog friends I’ve missed. Dating in the age of social distancing is challenging : ) Stay well and enjoy your family!

    Like

Leave a comment