Time after time…

 

From this Side of the Pond

1. Do you try to set rules for yourself about how you use your time? Explain.

Being a full time working mom, my time is pretty much set for me!  We do try to do a “no devices Sunday morning” – no iPhones, no computer, no iPad, no tv on Sunday mornings before church… we aren’t always successful, but when we do it’s wonderful!
2. Monday was National Lighthouse Day. Have you ever visited a lighthouse? If not, do you have any desire to see one up close? Of the 10 Most Beautiful that made this list which would you most like to see in person-

Lindau Lighthouse (Germany), Fanad Lighthouse (Ireland), Portland Head Light (Maine), Yaquina Bay Light (Oregon) The St. Augustine Light (Florida), Peggys Point Lighthouse (Canada), Start Point Lighthouse (England), Tower of Hercules (Spain), Bass Harbor Head Station (Maine), and White Shoal Light (Michigan)

I don’t think I have ever actually visited a lighthouse, but of that list… Honestly, they all look amazing!  But I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland, so I”ll go with the Fanad Lighthouse!
When you’ve been away, what’s your ‘lighthouse’ telling you you’re on the right road home?

When we were in the military, we were stationed for the first 10 years in the southeast.  And while those years were amazing, when we were driving across country to our new assignment in Idaho, and I saw the red mesas of Arizona, topped with snow, my saintly Mother-in-law (who was riding in the car with me) looked at me and said, “Wow, if you could see your face… you’re home, aren’t you?”  And I responded with a giddy “YES!”  Nothing like red rocks, mountain ranges, etc.  The west is just so different, and it’s home to me.  Also, seeing the pacific ocean crash against the cliffs… nothing better.

3. What have you unintentionally stopped doing? Is this something you need to pick back up and begin again, or is it something you need to let go of for now (or even permanently)?

Ugh – I’ve stopped Bible study, and I miss it.  I miss learning, I miss being challenged, I miss the company of girlfriends studying and wrestling and sharing the word.  I have had to let go, due to my job and family needs… and I do pray that by next spring things will have settled a bit so that I can join a Bible study again.  I love working, really I do, but I miss the freedom to join prayer groups and Bible studies during the day.

4. We’ve had a full week of August. Share a GRAND moment from your month so far.
I”ll be honest, it has been a bittersweet week start to August.   I got a job promotion, which I have been wanting… but two days before my new position started with a new boss, I lost a dear friend and coworker unexpectedly.   I’m grateful for where I work… and I love my new boss, but a there has been a lot of loss in  a couple of months… and all with different sets of emotions, and I miss my friends.
5. Tell us one song you love with the word ‘baby’ in the title.

The song “Baby Mine” from Dumbo… when I was pregnant with my daughter, the doctors were concerned late in my pregnancy that there might be something wrong with her, because she (and I) weren’t growing as big as they thought we should be.  (Disclaimer, if they had measured my BUTT, they would have seen that she was fine, because that is where I carried her, apparently!)  But, in those weeks of being scared, feeling so helpless, all I could do was sing that song to her “Baby mine, don’t you cry, baby mine, dry your eyes, rest your head, close to my heart, never to part, baby you’re mine.”

 

And you know, she was fine!

6.  Insert your own random thought here.

Please friends, pray for our church staff, and for Bob’s family, who are reeling from his sudden departure… he was the WORST sick person, so he would have wanted his passing to be quick like it was… but being so young, and for those left behind, we are … I don’t even know what words to use to describe what we are… devastated.  Every morning when I walk into the office I wait for his voice to call out “Good morning!  You doing all right there Sal?”  and oh God, it’s so hard not hearing his voice… seeing his empty chair.  He was on staff for 26years and was the backbone… please pray for all of us.  And if somehow you are reading this, Bob… words can’t describe how much I loved you, our friendship, your loyalty to our church and community… how you put love into action, you were the church defined.  I’ll never forget you… and you are missed more than words can say.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

3 thoughts on “Time after time…”

  1. I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend. Sometimes it seems like the whole world should stop and take note, rather than everyone just continuing to live their lives as though nothing has happened. 😦
    I loved your paragraph about home. What a sweet memory that was.

    Like

  2. I loved your note about home and I sometimes still get that feeling when we drive to Maryland and cross the Bay Bridge. I could almost cry and sometimes do. I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend and co-worker. Loss is always hard, but sudden loss is especially tough. Thinking of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

