It’s about time!

 

I know, I know… it has been WAY too long since I last did a blog post or Hodgepodge.  And I’ve missed it.  Lets see, in the past 8 weeks I’ve lost three of my bosses at work (two hugely unexpected), we’ve had the end of the school year craziness, an all-family camping trip, and I”ve had carpal tunnel surgery!  But now, now we are on vacation… at our home away from home, and I can blog to my heart’s content.  Or at least until my computer runs out of power because I forgot to bring the charger cord.  sheesh.

 

From this Side of the Pond

1. When was the last time you chatted with a neighbor? About what? (sharing that last bit is optional)

I chat pretty regularly with our neighbors – we have certainly been blessed with this neighborhood.  (that has NOT always been the case!)  But the most recent was just a few days ago – I was chatting with our neighbor, Bill, across the street about our upcoming trip, the fact that our dishwasher broke the day before we were leaving (yes, the one we just got 6 months ago!  Sigh), etc.  He’s a great guy and has lived in this neighborhood since the homes were built in the mid 80s… so he knows everything about our home, which is an invaluable resource!  And he’s got an adorable black labrador who graciously puts up with our younger dog’s attempts to play!

2. River, lake, ocean, or waterfall…which one are you most like and why?

Ocean – because there are surprises beneath the surface that you have to dive into in order to discover.  ooh that’s deep!  Ha – like the ocean! 🙂

3. July 13 is National Delaware Day. Ever been to Delaware? Delaware is called ‘the first state’ because it was the first to declare independence from the British. What’s your state’s nickname and does that moniker make sense to you? If you were in charge, what nickname would you give your home state?

I have never been to Delaware – I’ve never been to the northeast at all, but would really like to go sometime!  So much history there.  I live in California – our state’s nickname is “The Golden State” and it is called that because of the Gold Rush in 1848 which exploded the state’s population, the Golden poppies that bloom every spring, the Golden Gate bridge in San Fransisco (I was SO disappointed when I saw it for the first time as a kid and saw that it is red, not gold!), and of course, our golden sunsets over the Pacific Ocean.  Nothing better.  Personally, I’d also say “The Golden State” makes sense because it feels like it costs a whole heap of gold to live here!
4. What dish did you contribute to the last pot luck meal you attended? Do you have a go-to recipe for pot luck suppers?

I honestly don’t remember the last pot luck meal I attended – they don’t seem to be as common out here as they did in the south.  But what I would bring would depend on the type of meal (bbq, dinner, brunch) and the time of year.  In the summer, I have an incredible baked beans recipe that you make in the crockpot, and my aunt’s pasta salad recipe.

5. What is your number one tip for a brand new parent?

Relax!  Reach out to other mama’s your age with little ones for practical advice, sleep when you can, shower when you can, hire a housecleaner if you can, and take pictures – because sleep deprivation has a way of causing you to not remember what you named your child, much less what they looked like as a sweet newborn!

6. Insert your own random thought here.

Please pray for my husband and I, as we are starting a mental health ministry at our church.  The possibilities are endless, and the need is huge… please pray for us to have the right focus, the resources to utilize, and the support.  If your church has this type of ministry, could you tell me about it?  Or if you have utilized something like this, I would love to hear what worked for you, what didn’t, what you would have loved to see.  Thanks friends!

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

Leave a Reply

