My dog is drunk.

 

How’s that for a lead-in?

 

No, but seriously… she has been licking and gnawing at her paws so much that they are red and irritated and starting to bleed, and so until we can get her into the vet, I gave her Benadryl.  And she’s a hilarious drunk.  Bless her heart.  A 75-pound American Bulldog stumbling around with a goofy look on her face.  Just what I need to make me laugh after what has been a difficult week!  So, lets Hodgepodge and maybe she’ll sober up by the end!

 

From this Side of the Pond

1. May 17th is National Pack Rat Day. Sidebar-should we be celebrating this? Hmmm…

Are you a pack rat? Even if you’re not a full fledged pack rat, most people have one thing or another they struggle to part with. Tell us what’s yours.

Oh dear, really? Well, I guess they have a day for everything don’t they?  Not quite sure how you would celebrate this one though!  Having moved so many times being in the military, and now finally settled for what I hope is a long time, we are definitely not pack rats.  We tend to purge every time we move!  And our place now is smaller than what we had before, so we definitely have tried to minimize.  Reading about the Kon Marie method of “Does this bring you joy?  If not, then let it go” has helped tremendously with that.

What do I have a hard time getting rid of?  Pictures – kids art projects – letters – that sort of thing.  We have a couple of bins of these items that I just can’t seem to figure out what to do with.
2. What are two things you know you should know how to do, but you don’t?
Fix the stupid drain in our bathroom.  I mean seriously, how hard can that be?  But alas, I have tried and the darn thing still won’t work.  Sigh.

Also, change the oil in my car instead of paying someone $50 to do it.  Ridiculous.
3. Do you crave sugar? Do you add sugar to your coffee and/or tea? Do you use artificial sweeteners or sugar substitutes? When dining out is dessert a given? Are you someone who has slain the sugar dragon, and if so tell us how you did it.

Yes, I definitely crave sugar – hard to resist, and once I have it, I immediately want more.  I don’t add sugar to my coffee/tea, but I do have flavored creamer.  I don’t usually order dessert when dining out unless it is a special occasion.  BUT, if you are ever in San Clemente, California, you simply must go to Nicks on Del Mar and have their butter cake… because then, and only then, will you die completely happy and satisfied.

 

OK, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration… but not by much.
4. What’s a trend it took a while for you to come round to, but now you can’t imagine living without?
Using a common calendar for all of our family members that would share on our multiple devices.  SO helpful!  We use Cozi, a free app, and it allows us to share calendar events, shopping lists, notes, etc.  Though hubby is wanting to switch over to our Apple calendar… but I love Cozi for the shared shopping lists… whatever, it all works!  And in a crazy household of full time working parents and three teenagers, it’s a life saver.
5. What’s a song that reminds you of a specific incident in your life? Please elaborate.
Oh gosh, SO many to choose from.  But lets go with “If There Were No Dreams” by Neil Diamond – it’s the first dance my hubby and I danced to when we were dating, and was our first dance at our wedding!
6. Insert your own random thought here.

What a week.  Lets just say lots of unexpected twists and turns in our personal life (court didn’t go well last week, but at least we never ever ever have to deal with our former landlords again – praise God and Hallelujah), and lots of unexpected changes at work (I am on staff at our church) that will rock the staff and congregation.  Deep breaths.  Holding tight to the One who is ultimately in control, and trying to NOT be the 2-year-old throwing a tantrum in Target screaming “WHY? It’s not FAIR! I don’t WANT to do this!”  Because I know God would, as any parent, just stand over me, wait for my tantrum to wind down, and say “Are you done?  Because you know, it may SEEM like the world is all topsy turvy right now, but there’s better stuff out there if you would just get up off the floor, take my hand, and trust me for a cotton pickin’ minute!” (apparently in my mind God is a southern woman… don’t judge)

So breathe deep friends… He’s in control.  And He’s good, all the time.  And He’s always working.  All the time.  Even when He sounds like an old southern woman.  And your dog is still drunk.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

4 thoughts on “”

  1. Too funny about your dog. My dogs get hotspots all the time. Our last pup started licking her paws.
    After $200 worth of tests, the Vet’s diagnosis was that she was bored. Hope you have a great week and your pup gets better.

    Like

  2. I still think that sugar has to be all or nothing. And nothing is preferable, I guess. I am trying to do that again. About your poor doggie, does he have allergies? My GSD used to chew on his paws and make hot spots until I put him on grain free food. That was the end of all the gnawing and chewing on himself. I loved your #6. God is so gracious and merciful, isn’t He!

    Like

  3. I love you so much! I totally love the comic relief Cara is providing you through this period of your journey…and I totally love that I am not the only person who sometimes hears God as a southern woman!! Prayers for you and yours for a break from the topsy-turvy, sooner rather than later, and a glimpse of the awesomeness that is waiting in the wings! ❤
    -E

    Like

Leave a Reply

