How in the name of all that is sacred is it the end of April already?  Craziness, people!  Craziness!  Weren’t we just on spring break?  What do you mean the kids will be on summer break in just 6 weeks?  Lord have mercy… lets Hodgepodge quickly before it changes seasons on us!

 

From this Side of the Pond

 

1. April showers bring May flowers or so the saying goes. Has your April been filled with showers? Do you carry an umbrella, wear a slicker, or make a run for it? Besides rain, what else has filled your April?

Nope, no rain for us here this April – which, after how much we got in January and February, is fine with me!  And nope, I generally just make a run for it – which my boss makes fun of, as he jaunts around with his ginormous “fit-4 under here” golf umbrella! We have been enjoying the massive amounts of wildflowers that are blooming all over though, as a result of all the rain.  These are my kiddos and doggie hiking in the hills right above our house!  How nice it is to be out of the severe drought we have been in for the past several years!

fullsizeoutput_198e
2. What’s something you could you give a 30-minute presentation on at a moment’s notice and with zero preparation?
The Church Community Builder program that houses our church database.  Yeah, exciting stuff.  I could also give a presentation on being a military spouse, being a mom, and what wine goes best with your toddler/teenager’s whine!  (Answer: all of them)
3. Share with us a favorite food memory from childhood.
My grandma used to have rows and rows of strawberry plants and radish plants in her backyard.  And I thought it was SO cool that at dinner we would have radishes on our salad that were picked right from the garden, and strawberry pie made from HER strawberries.  What can I say, I’m a city kid.
4. What’s a song you thought you knew the lyrics to, but later discovered you were wrong?
The song “In a New York Minute” by Don Henley… I thought it was “If I Knew Your Limit” – guess I had a dirty mind as a teenager!
5. According to one travel website, the most overrated tourist attractions in America are- Niagara Falls (NY), Hollywood Walk of Fame (California), Times Square (NYC), Epcot (FL), Seattle Space Needle (WA), and Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market (Boston). How many of these have you seen in person? Did you feel like a tourist? Did you care? Tell us about a place (not on the list) you’ve visited that might be considered a tourist trap, but you love it anyway.
I’ve been to the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Times Square, Epcot, and the Space Needle.  Most definitely felt like a tourist at all of those, although maybe less so in Hollywood since I grew up in southern California and Hollywood was just something I grew up with.

A place that is most definitely a tourist trap but I love anyway is Venice Beach in CA.  The best place to people watch, that’s for sure!
6. Your signature clothing item?
Um, am i supposed to have a signature clothing item?  Not sure how to answer that one!
7. What’s an experience you’ve had you think everyone should experience at least once? Why?

Snorkeling in tropical waters.  Absolutely incredible to me that you can be standing on the beach, enjoying the warm winds, the sandy white beaches, the turquoise water – and if you walk out 5 feet and put your face in, suddenly you are in the middle of another world just teeming with life!  Brightly colored fish, coral, turtles, eels… absolutely breath taking.  But if you spend your whole time just on the shore, you miss out on being a part of a whole new world that is just seconds away.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

So, prayers appreciated friends, as I have been sick with strep throat the past two days, and I”m supposed to be driving down with a bunch of teenagers to Mexico this weekend to take part in a house build.  Oy!  Pray for healing, for strength, and for wisdom as I decide whether i should still go.  And let me just say, getting strep is NOT fun!  I used to get it when I was a teenager, and although there are times I’d love to relive my high school experiences, this is not one I would choose.  On the plus side, I’m now caught up on Gilmore Girls, I’ve mastered three more levels in Candy Crush Saga, and I’ve read a chick-lit trash novel that my mom gave me 7 months ago.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

4 thoughts on “”

  1. Strep throat is the worst! Prayers for a speedy recovery! I’m with you…snorkeling is such a blast! Been many times…the Bahamas would be my favorite place!

    Like

  2. Great Hodgepodge! Love the fit-4 under here umbrella reference! I’m a MilSpouse too – Navy for almost 24 years now – it’s an adventure, isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

