A lemony yellowy springy Hodgepodge…

Our quote of the evening came from our eldest son, 19 years old, caught in that bizarre child/man world that I remember detesting when I was that age… but he seems to have captured it perfectly with this quote that he said tonight “I may lack common sense, but I did not break any rules!”

 

Seriously, how can you argue with that?

 

Oh how I have missed my Hodgepodge blog!  For some reason my Tuesday nights lately have been filled with meetings or being out of town, or my computer decided to be a royal pain in the arse (its not cussing if you use the British term, right?).  Anyway, its good to be back!  Spring Break next week for ye ‘ol Hodgepodge, and Holy Week, so we will be back after Easter!  So, lets Hodgepodge while we can!  Join in if you wish!!

 

1. April is Lawn and Garden Month. On a scale of 1-10 what’s the current state of your lawn and/or garden. (10=a showpiece, 1=send in the professionals). Tell us about any lawn or garden plans you have for this month.

Oh, definitely around a 3.  Our home was a rental for 25 years, and we have only lived here for a year, and California has been in a massive drought until recently.  So, makes gardening a bit of a challenge.  Our “grass” is more like crabgrass that has taken over, but it’s green, so we let it… And I do have a beautiful camellia bush and hydrangea bush that someone planted at one time, so I love those.  We just had a dead tree removed from our yard, so now we just need to figure out how to get the sprinklers changed to a drip system and plant some vines and such to cover the fences!  We’ll get it figured out – it is just a matter of time (and money!)  Luckily my eldest son is dating a sweet gal who’s dad is a landscaper!  I”m thinking a fire pit area, a trellis with vines, maybe a citrus tree or bush… Pinterest is both a blessing and a curse, friends.


2. “Many things grow in the garden that were never sown there.”~Thomas Fuller  What does this quote mean to you?

Hmmm,  this is an interesting quote.  To me it can say that one can discover great things no matter what their circumstance or upbringing and become successful… but it also says that one can have the most privileged of upbringings and still make poor decisions.

3. What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you think about God?
Love.  Grace.  Peace.

4. If we were chatting in person, how would I know if you were nervous?
I would be chatting about nothingness, scrambling my words, fidgety.

5. Do you like the color yellow? Would I find any in your home or wardrobe? Daffodils, tulips, roses, sunflowers, day lily, black eyed susan…which yellow bloom on this list is your favorite?
I do like the color yellow, but can not wear it to save my life!  Nope, its my anti-color!  I love Sunflowers, especially in a pretty blue vase that was given to me as a wedding gift – absolutely beautiful and so cheery!

6. Flip flops or bare feet?

Flip flops!  (And cute pedicured toes too, thank you very much… oh, I need a pedicure!  Anyone looking for a late birthday gift for me?  Pedicure please!) 😉

7. Tell us about any Easter plans, celebrations, or traditions you’ll carry out this month.
A year ago on Easter we were staying with friends, in limbo in between moving out of our rental and into our home.  And our youngest mentioned the other day his lament that he didn’t get an Easter egg hunt -so yeah, we’ll be doing that for sure!  And church!  And dinner with my parents!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

So, speaking of Easter – I made this pie for our church small group the other night, and ohmygoodness, it was AMAZING!!!  Seriously, not hard to do, and delicious – everyone was raving about it!  Try it if you are looking for something new!!!  (I saw it in the Magnolia Journal, the magazine published by Chip and Joanna Gaines from Fixer Upper. And you know, if you’ve seen that show, you know how it is – you think “hey, I could DO that!” and then you try, and it turns out like a Pinterest fail.  But not so with this pie, friends… trust me, I’m not a spectacular pie maker (other than the caramel apple pie from Pioneer Woman, that’s another good one) – but this Lemon Pie was amazing.  Try it, you won’t be sorry)

Lemon Pie by Joanna Gaines

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

One thought on “A lemony yellowy springy Hodgepodge…”

  1. ❤I miss you! Being that pie to me in Texas, and I will serve lasagna and wine! C’mon, you know you wanna! Plus, we are only a couple/few hours from Magnolia…just sayin’…
    ~E

    Like

Leave a Reply

