Rain, salt, tears, it’s all good.

Rain, rain, rain… we have waterfalls where no waterfalls exist.  Huge gushing waterfalls emptying into the ocean.  Children literally body boarding down their streets.  Craziness. So, lets thaw out and bit and hodgepodge, shall we?

 

1. “The cure for anything is salt water-tears, sweat, or the sea.” (Isak Dinesan) Would you agree? Of the three, which has ‘cured’ you most recently? 

A bit of all three, yesterday actually!  I woke up in a foul mood, so I went to the gym to get some exercise, and then after I got ready for work I drove down to the pier, got a tummy breakfast tomato and feta pie, sat looking at the ocean for a bit, then went to work and broke down in tears talking to one of my coworkers .  I felt a lot better afterwards – a good combo of all three!

2. What’s something you can’t eat without salt? Do you normally salt your food a lot, a little, or not at all? 

Popcorn.  I mean, why bother?
I don’t generally salt my food, because when I do I can’t seem to get it just right!
3. Sands of time, bury your head in the sand, built on sand, or draw a line in the sand…which sandy phrase could best be applied to something in your life right now? 
“Draw a line in the sand” – I kinda did that with a situation at work yesterday, and yeah, it felt good.
4. A favorite book, movie, or song with an island setting or theme? 
Fools Gold – cute movie with Matthew McConaughey and Kate Hudson
(And of course, Margaritaville is the BEST island song ever)
5. Yesterday-did you run your day or did it run you? How so? 
A little of both – as I mentioned, I woke up cranky… it kinda carried through the day, but you know, it’s ok to be cranky every once in a while – it makes people snap to and pay attention!
6. You’re on an island holiday. Will I most likely find you parked in a beach chair, shopping in town, on the back of a jet ski, or snorkeling off the back of a catamaran? 
Definitely snorkeling – I love it!!  And then a quick nap in a beach chair!
7. What do you think we humans most take for granted?
Each other.  Life is precious, it goes by quickly, and pettiness and arguing over every little stinking thing is just a waste of time.  Better to be real with each other, and err on showing too much grace rather than too much judgement.
8. Insert your own random thought here.
So, good news, the drought in California is now over – we have had a TON of rain in the last few weeks.  And a lot of my friends in other parts of the country are all snowed in.  So, to alleviate the hilarity of Californians freaking out over rain, and my friends literally snowed in, I give you this:
Go ahead – check it out.  you’ll laugh, I promise.
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

4 thoughts on “Rain, salt, tears, it’s all good.”

  1. Yay for the drought coming to an end! I love snorkeling, too, and go every opportunity I have! Yes, we do tend to take each other for granted and, sadly, we don’t realize it until someone is gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing the video, it was hilarious! I love the kitty litter segment LOL! We live in the mountains and have kitty litter in the car at all times for various situations. Have a good week!
    Cheers!
    Lori in Blue Ridge, GA

    Like

  3. Erring on the side of grace rather than judgement is very wise advice. Imagine how different the world would be. I’ve been seeing video of the horrendous rains and their aftermath in California. It’s terrifying. I bet they’ve changed their predictions about California becoming a desert. Ha! And those reservoirs are probably full now. But wow, the destruction along the way. Have a great weekend.

    Like

  4. We had crazy rain on my recent short visit to California. CRAZY!! Sideways rain and wind! I will have to make a return visit one day and sample the wonderful Cali weather I hear so much about. I am sometimes cranky too : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

