Onto the new year!

I don’t know about you, but on New Years Eve I said “See ya, 2016 – don’t let the door hit ya where the good Lord split ya!”  What a year – I could relive it all, but I don’t wanna… lets just say I’m ready for a new year!  one where our housing is secure, the kids are healthy, and my husband’s business is stable (please Lord!)

 

1. Share one favorite moment/memory from your Christmas holiday.
On Christmas Eve my daughter was asked to babysit a neighbor’s little girl for a few hours while her mom did some last minute errands.  Well, as things sometimes go, the few hours lasted a bit longer than anticipated, until it was time for us to go to our family pageant church service.  So I called my daughter, told her we were still all going, and to get the little girl dressed up, because she was going with us!  (We have brought her with us to church before, so I knew it would be ok with her mom).  As my daughter got her dressed, she looked up at my daughter and in the sweetest little voice said “Why do we have Christmas?”  and my daughter got the privilege of telling her exactly who Jesus was, and why we celebrate.  Precious.
img_3726

2. What was the best thing you ate over the holidays? Was it homemade or store bought? If it was homemade did you make it?

Tri-tip on Christmas Day, cooked on the grill.  Yummm… combined with mashed potatoes, rolls, and ending with caramel apple pie – oh yeah, my waistline shows the results, but it was all so good!  (And yes, all home made by me)

 

3. What was one of the most beautiful things you saw over the holidays?

Last week was also my daughter’s birthday, so we had a beach bonfire with 12 of her friends, complete with glow-in-the dark volleyball, roasting hotdogs and s’mores over the fire.  So fun!  We were getting a storm in that night, but on that evening it was actually warm, and the skies were so crystal clear, and we were far enough away from major lights, that we all stood on the shore and looked at the stars – found Orion’s belt, we could see Mars and Neptune, and it was so fun!  So the most beautiful things I saw were the stars, and also the smiles on the girl’s faces, illuminated by the fire and their friendship.

4. What does fresh start mean to you?

Choosing to focus on what is good and sure in your life, to thrive wherever you are instead of just survive (thank you Joanna Gaines, for that perspective – I just finished reading “The Magnolia Story”)

5. On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being very positive and 1 being not so great) how would you rate 2016 in terms of personal achievement and well being? Explain.

Honestly, I think that 2016 was more of a “survive” instead of “thrive” mode – not sure I did much personal achievement last year.  But, I did start working out more this past fall, and I feel much stronger physically and emotionally as a result.  So, I’d give myself a 4.

 

6. Every January 1st since 1976 Lake Superior University has published a list of words they’d like to see banished from the Queen’s English. Words may be banished due to misuse, overuse, or just general uselessness. Go here to read more about how the words were chosen or, if you’re like me, to find out what in the world the word or phrase even means or the context in which it’s used. There were quite a few on this year’s list I’d never heard before.Here’s the 2017 list of banished words-

You, Sir-focus-Bete Noire-Town Hall Meeting-Post Truth-guesstimate-831-historic-manicured-echo chamber-on fleek-bigly-ghost-Dadbod-listicle-get your dander up-selfie drone-frankenfruit-disruption

 

Which word on the list would you most like to see banished in 2017? What word or phrase would you add to the list?

“Bigly” – enough said.

 

7. Large or small, light or deep, share with us one goal you have for the new year.
 I have several goals, just not sure how I”m going to go about attaining them:  spend more time fostering friendships, get into a Bible study again, landscape our front and back yard, paint more rooms in our house.
8. Insert your own random thought here.
Thank you all for your prayers for my friend Kara Mae – while her surgery was a success (they were able to remove the entire brain tumor!) she was released from the hospital on Christmas Day, but then began to suffer more headaches, vertigo, and faintness, so she is back in the hospital for more tests.  While nothing significant has come from the tests, her recovery is proving to be more difficult than anyone expected.  Please continue to pray for her, for Rob, and for their kiddos back home.
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

2 thoughts on “Onto the new year!”

  1. That was a sweet Christmas Eve story with the little one being babysat by your daughter. Sweet. Hope you find ways to thrive in 2017. Your Christmas Day menu sounded delicious. Blessings.

    Like

  2. Hoping you have a wonderful 2017! Your Christmas dinner sounds delicious – that pie in particular! Saying prayers for your dear friend Kara Mae. May this year be filled with health and good news!

    Like

Leave a Reply

