A surreal hodgepodge…

4 days before Christmas – shopping done, menus to plan, work to be done… but lets Hodgepodge first! 

1. What’s left to be done on your Christmas to-do list? 

I’ve got to finalize my Christmas Eve and Christmas Day menu!  And do the shopping! And I’m having my daughter’s 15h birthday party Friday night! Ack!

2. The Hodgepodge lands on the first day of winter this year. What’s your favorite thing about winter? 

I do like the cooler temperatures – and yes, I kinda miss the snow.  But, where we live now only varies in temperature by, oh, 20 degrees… so, I walk on the beach, enjoy the sunsets, and when the temps dip below 60, I get on my fuzzy socks and light sweaters, because I can!  (And yeah, kinda enjoy the fact that I didn’t have to chip off ice from my sidewalk or windshield before work. Maybe I don’t miss snow that much…)

3. In what area of your life are you immature? Feel free to elaborate or not. 

I absolutely love the Muppets!  My hubby and kids all roll their eyes at me, but to them I say “Mahnamana!”

4. What was the most (or one of the most) important lessons you learned in 2016?

That just like Daniel in the Bible, sometimes what people mean for bad, God means for good.  Important perspective to keep, and take to heart, when things go topsy turvy and you are left spinning not sure which end is up.

5. It’s Fried Shrimp Day…are you a fan? What’s your favorite way to eat shrimp? Will there be shrimp somewhere in your holiday feastings? 

I’m not a fan of fried shrimp – sorry y’all, but when I lived in the South that’s one thing I didn’t understand, why everything had to be fried!  Granted, some things ARE delicious fried, like bread (hushpuppies – they’re not just loafers you wear on your feet!) and okra (really the  only way to eat that stuff) – but my favorite way to eat shrimp is gently sautéed in a wine, butter, and capers sauce and placed on top of angel hair pasta.  It’s the first dish Duane ever made for me, and it’s my favorite!

No shrimp in our holiday feasting though – not our tradition.

6. What sound lulls you to sleep? 

The sound of my hubby next to me.  The sound of rain.  Knowing my kids are all home safe in their beds.  OK, that’s not a sound… but it helps me sleep better.  So there.

7. What one word best describes your 2016? 

Surreal.  Which, ironically, is the 2016 word of the year.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Hey friends, can I ask for you to pray?  7 years ago my best friend Erika was killed in a car accident, leaving her husband Rob and two boys, Andrew (age 3) and James (age 7 months).  Andrew and my youngest were best friends.  3 years ago Rob married again – to an amazing Christian woman named Kara Mae, and 6 months ago they welcomed a sweet baby girl into their family.  Then, a few weeks ago they discovered a golfball-sized tumor in Kara Mae’s brain.  They are flying to North Carolina tomorrow where she will have surgery.  They will spend Christmas away from their three sweet kiddos, their baby’s first Christmas.  Please pray for the surgery to go well, for healing, for no long term effects, and for peace.  And please pray that this family, which has been through so much already, will not have to endure any more loss or heartbreak.

Merry Christmas, dear friends.

via From This Side of the Pond

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

7 thoughts on “A surreal hodgepodge…”

  1. I am sorry for the loss of your best friend. Praying the surgery goes well. It reminds me to pray for those who are facing difficulties this holiday season.
    Happy Birthday to your daughter and Merry Christmas!

    Like

  2. Oh, goodness…will definitely be lifting your friends up in prayer. I can’t even imagine. Sure makes my problems seem very insignificant. Hope your daughter has a wonderful birthday…MERRY CHRISTMAS!

    Like

  3. I miss you and yours, and love you terribly. My prayers are with Rob, Kara Mae, and their family. I wish Middle C a fabulously happy 15th birthday, and all of you a fantastically blessed Christmas!!
    Love,
    E

    Like

  4. Oh my. I will certainly add this family to my prayers. How very difficult this must be. Wishing you and your family a very merry Christmas!

    Like

  5. What a difficult season for your friends. I will pray for them, for complete healing for Kara Mae, and for God’s perfect peace to surround them even as they spend Christmas away from their children.

    Like

  6. Rob must be wondering what is going on. It is a privilege to pray and so I ask God to heal Kara Mae and to preserve Rob’s family that this may be a witness…a test turned to a testimony.

    The Muppets, eh? =D

    Like

Leave a Reply

