Movin’ right along…

I’ve got the stuffy head, drippy nose, achy yucky cold thing going on, so my creativity is meh at the moment… but, Joyce is moving next week (woohoo!) and so we will have a couple of weeks off from the Hodgepodge.   So, even if I start to ramble a bit towards the end (due to the yucky cold), lets away, my friends!

 

1. Besides your very own house, describe a place where you feel most ‘at home’? 
When we were traveling across the county, moving from Florida to Idaho, after being stationed in the southeast for 10 years – we entered Arizona and my mother-in-law looked over at me in the car, smiled, and said “You’re home, aren’t you… you’ve got a huge smile on your face!”  So yeah – the red rocks, the San Francisco Peaks, Arizona is where I “grew up” in my college and early married years – and it’s home in my heart of hearts.  I hope to live there again someday.
2. When did you last ‘hit a home run‘ with something? Explain. 
Well, I figured out a way to prevent my job from spending an extra $1k a year on a product we weren’t convinced we needed – so that’s something!
3. Tell us about something you love in your house or kitchen that is ‘homemade’. 
My daughter made me a ring holder in pottery several years ago – so I could put my rings and earrings in there when I shower.  It’s precious!
4. ‘A man’s home is his castle’…which of the world’s ten most captivating castles (according to The Travel Channel) would you most like to visit and why-

Mont Saint-Michel (France), Edinburgh Castle (Scotland), Neuschwanstein Castle (Germany), Glamis Castle (Scotland), Windsor Castle (England), Chateau de Chambord (France), Hampton Court Palace (England), Prague Castle (Prague), St. Michael’s Mount (England), Leeds Castle (England), and Swallow’s Nest (Ukraine)
Neuschwanstein Castle – it’s what Sleeping Beauty’s castle in Disneyland is modeled after, and my husband went there while he was a student in Germany.  I’d love to see it!
5. What’s a recent or upcoming plan or project that’s required you do a little homework before getting started? Did the homework cause you to abandon your plan or adjust it in some way?
Ugh – we are trying to get an emotional therapy dog for our boys.  Which means we don’t want a puppy, but want a dog, preferably a golden retriever or labrador, between the ages of 2-8.  The process of finding a rescue animal that fits these criteria is mind numbing.  And so hard, when we want a dog so badly, and our boys want a dog so badly… and we have to be patient and wait for the right one.
6. In your opinion, is homework an unnecessary evil or a valuable practice? Should schools be done with homework? Why or why not? 
Homework is valuable, in that it gives extra practice to the students, and lets the parents know what is being taught and can see where there might be difficulties.  But – when teachers assign several hours of homework each night, that’s ridiculous.
7. Share a favorite memory of your childhood hometown. 
Every year, the Saturday before Thanksgiving, our town had a parade.  And I remember watching the “big kids” march with the junior and senior high bands… and 10 years later I got to march in that parade.  Second only to marching in the Rose parade!
8. Insert your own random thought here.
SO, cold = meh = thinking randomly of the theme of “moving” and “home” and this song popped into my head and WON’T LEAVE!
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

3 thoughts on “Movin’ right along…”

  1. There’s a dog out there for you…wait for the right one. You will know and you want the right fit for your family. Good luck with the hunt and I hope you feel better soon!

    Like

  2. I have faith that you will find the right dog. We searched for almost 6 months until finally this week a rescue golden doodle popped up for adoption. (see my hodgepodge for a photo) We are waiting to hear if our application will accepted. We are on pins and needles and praying that she will become a member of our family. I will pray for your search to be successful.
    Cheers!
    Lori in Blue Ridge, GA

    Like

  3. You’ll find the perfect dog – it does take time. So much better not to rush right in! Enjoyed reading your Hodgepodge today – better late than never! Have a great weekend! – Jessica

    Like

Leave a Reply

