I’m sensing a good Hodgepodge!

 

 

1. What would you say is your strongest sense?
I keep going between touch and sound – both things that I love.  Words, words, words… and a good strong hug or a touch of the hand.
2. Do you believe in the idea of a ‘sixth sense’? Why or why not?
I do – sometimes I’ll have a premonition, or will dream something or have a vision of things that mean something special – either an assurance of things to come, or an affirmation of where I am at the time.  Maybe it’s God speaking to me through dreams, but yeah, I believe some people have a ‘sixth sense’
3. When do you most feel like a slave to time? Explain.

On Wednesdays.  Carpool at 7:15. Drs appointment from 9-12.  Work from 12-4.  Prep for evening program from 4-5:30.  Teach at our evening program at church from 5:30-7.  Kids at youth group from 7:30-9.  Pick up kids from said youth group at 9.  Go home, have a glass of wine, and collapse.

Oy. Vey.  It’s all good stuff – I love driving carpool (that’s when you get all of the good stuff!), our weekly dr appt is awesome, work is great, and I LOVE teaching the preschoolers in the Weds eve program – so sweet.  And I’m glad my kids want to be a part of their youth group at church.  But its exhausting.  Hence the wine. 🙂

4. Have you ever worked in a restaurant? How would you rate the experience? If you could own a restaurant what kind would it be? 
I’ve never worked in a restaurant.  But if I could own a restaurant, I would want one that served amazing coffee and breakfast pastries, and incredible sandwiches and crepes and, yes “girly food” as my husband would say.  YES!
5. Ever traced your family tree? Share something interesting you learned there.

No I haven’t, personally – but my great-aunt did, and discovered that one of my ancestors fought in the Revolutionary War!  Wow… guess we go back quite a ways!  (And also means that I could be a member of the DAR, if I wanted to… and could have gotten college scholarships as a result… and… hmmm)

6. What did your childhood bedroom look like?
I had two twin beds, which was great when I had sleepovers.  Light blue comforters, and blue carpet.  Hello eighties!  In my teen years I wallpapered (actually, my grandpa did) my room in a cute (again, hello 80s!) floral print with a mauve stripe border.  Yep, 80s. And then I painted it in a mauve pink color.  So prosaic.  My favorite part, though, was my bedroom door – I had it covered in posters and “inspirational saying posters” – Kirk Cameron, Bible quotes, a little bit of everything.
7. Anyone who knows me knows I love_______________________?

My husband, my kids, good coffee, and good chocolate.  In that order.  Oh, and a good Chardonnay.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

3 thoughts on “I’m sensing a good Hodgepodge!”

  1. Ummmm…do palm trees have significant enough leaf drop to help with that last thing? I’m thinking you need to go to Yellowstone or something! I’ll meet you there!❤️

    Like

  2. I am a fellow hodgepodge. Your site was listed adjacent to mine on Joyce’s Blog page, although I think I might have visited your page before. I am so with you on your random thought. I think most of our fellow citizens feel likewise. Can you imagine the size of the leaf pile that would be necessary to accommodate all of us. I enjoyed reading your answers this week. Have a great week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

