Movin’ on Up…

Moving.  When I saw that was the theme of this week’s Hodgepodge, I laughed, a bit maniacally… having moved 12 times in 22 years, I’ve got a bit of experience with moving – literally, and figuratively as well.  A lot of transition comes whenever you move, whether it is 2 blocks away or 2000 miles.  So with that, lets move on into the Hodgepodge!

1. What would you say is the best and worst thing about moving house?
Having a new slate – a chance to start over, explore new things, meet new friends.  I also like finding new configurations for furniture, pictures, etc.

On the other hand, it’s kinda annoying to never EVER have curtains or curtain rods that fit the same windows from house to house.  Seriously, what is with that???
2. What’s moved you recently?
Last Thursday evening I got the news that my grandmother was declining rapidly.  So I threw some things in a bag and drove up to say what I knew might be my final goodbye.  She was in a semi-coma, eyes closed, making small sounds, small movements, but not responding.  Still, I got to spend some precious time with her, sharing stories, thanking her for her role in my life, and I sang to her.  As I sang “For Good” from Wicked, and I got to the line, “Because I knew you, I have been changed for good..” she reached over and put her hand on top of mine.

I will never forget that.

She passed away exactly 24 hours later.  My mother and I were on a mountain retreat with my church when I got the news and had to tell my mother that her mom was no longer with us.  It was a sad, bittersweet weekend.  No cell service, no internet, time in the crisp autumn air of the mountains, surrounded by women who loved us with abundance, time to grieve and heal and just be.  A very moving weekend for sure.

3. Do you feel your life is moving forward, backward, or is on hold? How so?
Moving forward – finally we feel a bit settled here, with our own home, jobs stable, etc.  And God is opening up new opportunities for ministry, which is scary exciting!
4. On the move, move mountainsget a move onit’s your move, or bust a move...which phrase best applies to some aspect of your life right now? Explain.
“Move mountains” – because seriously, dealing with doctors and insurance companies and credit card companies and stupid head ex-landlords and lawyers and… yep, gotta move some mountains y’all.
5. What song makes you want to get up and move?

I LOVE this song right now!  (It’s Gonna Be OK by Andy Grammar and the Piano Guys, in case the link won’t work)  Your booty can simply NOT resist moving with this song!  And I know, WordPress is being lame and won’t let me post the YouTube video here, so just click on the link.  Trust, me… awesome song, awesome lyrics, you won’t be sorry!
6. Your favorite snack to grab when you’re ‘on the move‘?

Mixed nuts.  Seriously, awesome energy boost.  Also, Spark energy drink from AdvoCare.

7. What one accessory makes your house feel like home?
My Willow Tree figurines – The first one I bought was for my husband when I found out we were having a baby girl, I bought him a father/daughter figurine.  And since then we have bought others for each other, and I love every single one.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

img_2183

This is my Granny.  She passed away exactly 24 hours after I saw her last, and exactly 4 weeks before what would have been her 99th birthday.  She always had cookies in the cookie jar, spiced gum drops in the candy jar, and her hall closet smelled like mothballs.  She had geraniums and roses in her garden, and took me to Bullocks Wilshire for high tea as a special treat, just her and I.  When she disapproved of something she wouldn’t speak a word, she would just wrinkle her nose… something that I do, and my daughter does as well – apparently it’s a female thing in our family!

I will miss her dearly, but am oh, so grateful that my children knew her, and that she is finally at peace.  I love you Granny.  Go play golf and bridge with the angels.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

4 thoughts on “Movin’ on Up…”

    1. Very sweet what you said about your granny. I loved it too! And, you’ve moved A LOT so I guess you should be considered and expert. There is nothing like a fresh start and a clean slate!

      Like

  1. Love the pic and the memories of you and Granny – definitely brought a tear to my eye. I also LOVE the fact that you and middle C inherited the wrinkled nose trait 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

