Classically the Proverbs 31 Woman… kinda…

To start out, I asked my hubby “What’s something I say all the time?” and he responded with a  smile and just started moving his hands around.  “Ahh, I talk with my hands?” I replied, laughing. “Yes, everything you say is accentuated with your hands in motion!  It’s hilarious!”  Ha!  (I’ll admit, I was a little nervous about what he might say, so I’ll take it!)  So with that, lets Hodgepodge!

1. What’s changed in your life, home, or community since your last birthday?

Oh goodness – it has only been 6 months since my last birthday, but in that time we have bought a house (with 6 weeks notice, thank you jerky landlords) and moved (what they meant for evil, God meant for good!), my hubby is home for good after being in St Louis for 18 months, our eldest graduated high school, and I won my workers comp court case!  Phew – what a whirlwind!  Here’s to a more steady next 6 months!

2. September is Classical Music Month. Do you like/listen to classical music? If so what’s a favorite piece and/or who is a favorite composer? 

I love classical music, especially when I’m engrossed in a project that requires concentration – can’t have lyrics, I’ll get distracted.  I didn’t realize this until I was in college and found myself listening to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons while I studied.

My favorite piece, though, is one I play on the piano, Moonlight Sonata by Beethoven (he’s my favorite composer, bar none.  Mozart is my second.  Sorry Bach, my piano teacher, Debbie, ruined you for me with the endless Bach festivals she made me enter in.  I’m sure you are wonderful.)

3. Besides The Bible, what’s a book that has positively changed your life, relationships, career, or perspective? How so?

“When Perfect Isn’t Good Enough” by Nancy Kennedy.  I first read it when it was originally entitled “I’m Scared of the Proverbs 31 Woman”.  It is a hilarious, yet thought provoking, look at what it really means to be a Christian woman/mother/wife.  I’ve never laughed so hard, or taken so many of her lessons to heart – it’s all about grace, and being who God asks you to be in that moment, and not worrying so much about measuring up to an impossible standard.  I led a study on this book with my squadron spouses years ago, and it remains one of my all time favorites to this day.  You can find it here – you won’t be sorry!

4. I read (here) these ten hobbies will make you smarter…play a musical instrument, read voraciously, meditate regularly, work out your brain (puzzles, sudoku, board games, etc), exercise often, learn a new language, write your feelings down (blog, journal, just write), travel to new places, cook different kinds of meals, participate in sports actively

Are any on this list your current hobbies? Which hobby on the list would you be most inclined to try? 

I do play the piano, though not regularly right now.  I read when I can (I’ve been reading the Outlander Series – big books take a LONG time when you don’t have a lot of time!), I do yoga once a week, I blog and Facebook, and with the help of Blue Apron I stretch my cooking repertoire which is fun and challenging.

I would love to travel more, it’s just not the right season for that.  Some day, I hope!

5. What sports traditions does your family have? 

No real sports traditions, unless you count the endless taunts during football season between the part of my family that went to UCLA versus the other part that went to USC.  (I went to Northern Arizona and have blissfully stayed neutral)

6. In a few words, weigh in on the current football/National Anthem brouhaha. Keep it family friendly please. 

You know, as much as I think people should absolutely stand for the National Anthem, the ability to choose to NOT to is part of the freedoms we defend in our country.

7. Where do you have loads of patience, and where do you most lack patience?

I have loads of patience with little kids.  Heck, they are just learning how to be people, it’s hard work!

I don’t have much patience with people who claim they want to make a change in their lives, but then not only don’t do anything about it, but actually put things in their way that prevent them from making that change.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Several loved ones have been battling severe depression – some for years, some just recently.  One of my dearest posted this the other day, and I thought it was amazing.  I hope it helps someone out there.

 

 

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

3 thoughts on “Classically the Proverbs 31 Woman… kinda…”

  1. I too have an issue with “people who claim they want to make a change in their lives, but then not only don’t do anything about it, but actually put things in their way that prevent them from making that change”. Our daughter has had several opportunities to go to rehab for drug abuse. She says she wants to get better, but then doesn’t show-up to enter the facility. She has lost so much: her job, her home, her husband, her children, our trust, and her freedom (jail time). It’s sad to say, but my patience has run out! I enjoyed reading your answers and look forward to see you in future hodgepodge events. Have a good week.
    Cheers!
    Lorin in Blue Ridge, GA

    Like

  2. Glad those things have all worked out for good for you. I was born in East Los Angeles and I know the rivalry between S.C. and UCLA well. We’ve always cheered against USC. Don’t tell that side of the family! Depression is a hard road. I’ll click over and read the post.

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you’re on the other side of the yuck and can see how it’s all worked together so beautifully! I don’t think I knew you played the piano. See, you learn something new every week in the Hodgepodge : ) Happy Monday! I’m slow getting around this week. Last week. : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

