Yin and Yang

Beach house vacation – Universal Studios – Kids go to church camp, hubs and I go to Vegas (yin and yang, right?) – now kids are back to school this week and the craziness of school carpools, homework, and soccer practices ensues!  With the craziness of the last few weeks there hasn’t been much time for blogging of any kind… but now I’m back!  Lets Hodgepodge!

1. I read here four creative activities to try this month. They were-calligraphy, make your own cookbook, dance or learn a new type of dance, and letter writing. Which activity on the list appeals to you most? Will you add it to your August? 
Calligraphy writing has always been a huge desire of mine – I would love to learn how to write that way!  But, not gonna happen this month… I write letters/notes on a regular basis, that’s easier for me to do!
2. Bertrand Russell is quoted as saying, ‘To be without some of the things you want is an indispensable part of happiness.‘ Agree or disagree? Explain. 
Hmm – I don’t know about an “indispensable part of happiness” – but it’s certainly not a bad thing to do without what you “want” – in many ways it better amplifies what is really important, and teaches you to be happy within your current circumstances.
3. August 17th is National Thriftshop Day…are you a ‘thrifter’? If so, tell us about one of your best or favorite finds. 
Yes, I love thrift shops, especially in relatively well-to-do towns.  I’ve found $200 shirts for $10, Polish pottery for $5, etc.
4.  On a scale of 1-10 (with 1= almost none and 10=loads) how would you rate your sense of wanderlust? What kicks your wanderlust into high gear? 
I’d say a 7… I would love to visit other places, but I’ll admit that after moving every 1-3 years for the last 20 years, I don’t necessarily want to LIVE somewhere different all the time.
5. Has life felt more like a marathon or sprint so far this month? How so?
Um, see my intro paragraph! Definitely a marathon!
6. What do you need to get a jump on before fall officially arrives?
I’ve got to clean out my garage storage, sort through mismatched dishes and such, etc.  Now that we have been in the house for 3 months, I’m ready to organize and get things in order!
7. What’s the last thing you did with friends or family where you lost track of time? 
Just tonight, we were having dinner with friends, swimming in the pool, walking on the beach… and then, darn it, had to come home because, darn it, it’s a school day tomorrow!  Ugh.  Reality sucks sometimes!
8. Insert your own random thought here. 
So, I love the Olympics.  LOVE the Olympics.  But this year, the best part?  Has been the commentary from Jen Hatmaker – if you don’t know who she is, go check her out on Facebook – she is hilarious!!!
And for those of you who won’t check her out on Facebook without a teaser, here’s one of her posts, to which I died laughing and pledged my eternal sisterhood with her:

 

“That didn’t look like a very hard vault..” is a thing I just said without irony.

I am wearing stretchy pants and eating chips with wine. My entire commentary makes sense. It is reasonable for me to make this assessment. My vault critique should not be frowned upon.”

 

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

6 thoughts on “Yin and Yang”

  1. You raise a good point about thrift stores–there aren’t any close by me, but the wealthy areas of our city are not far at all…I should go check out THEIR thrift stores…

    And now I’m off to find Jen Hatmaker on facebook 🙂

    Like

  2. Yes, I am going to find Jen on Facebook too. You may be just as humorous as she. I like antique and consignment stores and keep intending to look for an estate sale in one of the really nice neighborhoods, but each Friday seems to be taken with other things. That is where I have found some really good items.

    Like

  3. I’ll have to check Jen out…she sounds like my kind of gal! I have enjoyed watching the Olympics, mainly Michael Phelps and Simone Biles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

