It’s summer on the hodgepodge!

What a week!  Graduation festivities, a party at the house, family in town… what a wonderful few days!  So much food… so much celebrating… I think I need a month of salads to flush out all of the rich food!  But our kiddo was honored and celebrated, and that was a lot of fun.

IMG_0975

So now. Into summer we go, juggling schedules and trips and enjoying settling down a bit!  With that, lets Hodgepodge, and as always, feel free to join in on the fun by clicking the link below!

1. If you could sit beside and/or jump in any lake in the whole wide world today, which lake would you choose and why? 
Lake Tahoe, in northern California.  It is absolutely beautiful – I used to travel there as a nanny when I was in high school every summer.
emerald_bay
2. What’s your favorite ‘fruity’ drink? 
Give me a gin and tonic with a wedge of lime, and I’m a happy girl, especially on a hot summer day!  (Though this lemonade I made for the graduation was pretty darn incredible, if I do say so myself… can’t go wrong with Pioneer Woman!)
3. I read a list here of thirteen things to do right now to simplify your life. They were-

clean as you go, re-evaluate your relationships (cut toxic ties), unsubscribe (too many blogs and websites), de-clutter, write down your daily goals, reply to emails right away, forget multitasking, create a morning routine, re-evaluate your commitments (which hobbies and responsibilities are most important to you), say no, clean up your computer, and plan your day ahead

 

Which of the tasks listed do you currently find most helpful in keeping life simple? Which item on the list should you adopt in order to simplify your life this month?

Cleaning as I go definitely helps keep life simple, as does de-cluttering. I can’t stand clutter!… and I should definitely adopt cleaning up my computer!  Seriously, ridiculous how things get so cluttered.
4. What did you do the summer after you graduated from high school? 
As I mentioned before, I went to Lake Tahoe as a nanny with the Hall family.  I also traveled to Guatemala on a mission trip.  It was a pretty incredible summer!
5. Are you a fan of podcasts? If so what’s a favorite? 
I love podcasts!  My favorites are:  Serial, Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me, Ask Me Another, and the Brant & Sharri Podcast.
6. Do you think today’s fathers have it harder, easier, or just different than fathers in the past?
I don’t think it’s harder or easier, just different – the same pressures, of providing for the family, but I think fathers today are more supportive, engaged in their family’s lives, helping raise the children, supporting working wives, sharing household duties.
7. Tell us one way you’re like your father? Or not at all like your father if that’s easier?
My dad is the eternal optimist, always looking for the good in everyone.  A childlike faith for sure, in God, in humanity.  To a  fault, perhaps…
But I’m often like him in that regard – I’m an optimist first, a realist second, a pessimist rarely.
 
8.  Insert your own random thought here.
Oh what a day.  Lets just say it has been a long day of tears, emotions, and probably a whole heap of hormones adding their fun to the mix.  But, thank God I have an amazing husband, who took one look at me when i got home from work, came over and hugged me.  And then, when I came home from a rough evening meeting, paused the movie he was watching with the kiddos, and came outside to love, listen, and support me.  So, so blessed.  That’s what 22 years of marriage will do!  He’s a keeper.  Now I’m off to bed – praise God and Hallelujah!
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

2 thoughts on “It’s summer on the hodgepodge!”

Leave a Reply

