Psalms, chocolate, coffee…

Graduation week.  Family starts arriving today.  Shopping to be done… meals to be prepared… festivities to attend… a party to host… what a fun time for our family… but before my day begins and fun chaos reigns, lets Hodgepodge!

 

1. I read recently a list of 13 things you should do in June. I’m paraphrasing a little but basically…

Go on a road trip with your best friend, pick fresh strawberries, host a garden party, take a morning run, treat yourself to a flower bouquet, spend a whole day hiking, discover a new coffee shop, try a new ice cream flavor, read at least one book, visit a Farmer’s Market, make a swing for your home, and visit a new city.

Which thing on the list do you most want to do? Of the activities mentioned, which one holds the least appeal? How many on the list will you attempt in June? What’s one thing you’d add to the list?

A trip with my best friend would be SO fun!  I would love that.  The least appealing option is a morning run – because y’all, if you ever see me running, you had better run too, because there must be something really scary chasing me – that would be the only reason why I would run.  Now a morning walk, I could definitely do that!

In June, I will host a garden party (this Saturday!), treat myself to flowers, discover a new coffee shop, try a new ice cream flavor, read a book, and visit a Farmers Market.

I’d probably add spend quality time with family we don’t get to see very often!  We are having lots of family come in for Big C’s graduation, and then in a few weeks we are traveling up for an uncle’s retirement – both fun celebrations and great opportunities to reconnect with family!

2. What’s something you could do today to feel more peaceful?

Read the Psalms on a park bench by the ocean.  Hmmm…

3. June 7th is National Chocolate Ice Cream Day. Are you a fan? Swiss mocha, rocky road, chocolate chocolate chip, peanut butter and chocolate, or a dish of plain chocolate…what’s your pleasure?

I do love chocolate ice cream!  My favorite is peanut butter and chocolate – yummy…..

4. If you came with a warning what would it say?

“Proceed with caution until fully caffeinated”

5.What’s the most interesting website you’ve visited in the last week?

https://homeword.com 

It is such a great resource for parents and families – I spent an incredible amount of time reading the Culture Blogs, reading the articles and devotions… I’ve just finished teaching the Intentional Parenting curriculum offered by Homeword and it is fantastic!

6. Spring, summer, autumn, winter…which season are you? Why?

I’m spring.  New life emerging from the cold of winter, beauty planted in the fall and forgotten about now bursting through the ground…

7. “You lose sight of things…and when you travel, everything balances out.” ~Daranna Gidel

Would you agree with that sentiment? Explain why or why not.

Absolutely – at home and in the daily routine of work, errands, schedules, it is easy to get caught up.  When you travel, it causes you to notice new things, experience new sounds and smells and surroundings, and it refocuses you on what is really important.

And now a trip with my best friend REALLY sounds good right now!

8. Insert your own random thought here

A big week of transition for all three of my kiddos – my eldest is graduating high school, my middle is graduating middle school, and my youngest is graduating elementary!  I can’t believe I won’t have anyone in elementary school anymore!  Such an exciting time for our family… and it’s also the first party at our new house!  talk about incentive to get things organized, plants in the garden, etc.  I hope everyone has a wonderful rest of their week!  Off to get my coffee!

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

3 thoughts on “Psalms, chocolate, coffee…”

  1. Hooray for the graduating Henry! Glad you get to host in your new home with reliable plumbing and all.

    I could so enjoy sitting on a bench reading Psalms at the beach–you on one end, me on the other. It would be so quiet, not a word escaping or a laugh emerging from our mouths. Oops, there I go again, telling a little white lie. Ha!

    Go party, go enjoy your extended family, go caffeinate. Have a great time celebrating Big C’s accomplishment!

    Like

  2. I always say when you move into a new home throw a party or have houseguests because there’s nothing more motivating than that : ) Congrats on all your milestones, and enjoy the celebrations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

