Prom, Mexico, and That’s What Friends are For…

Seems like it has been a while since I’ve Hodgepodged (is that a word?  probably not, but it’s my blog, I’ll make up words if I want to… and now I’m singing “it’s my party and I”ll cry if I want to” but I digress…) Guess it has only been a couple of weeks… but still…

More accurately, I have the computer and my children do not!  (insert evil laugh, bwahahahahaaa…it’s all Mine!  All MINE!  )

Lets not belabor the point that confiscating my own laptop from my teenagers in order to Hodgepodge is resulting in evil laughs…and singing random 1965 tunes.

I may need help.

So lets Hodgepodge.

 

1. Tell us about a time you found yourself ‘in the middle of nowhere’. Was this deliberate?
Over Mothers Day weekend my hubs and I went with our two younger kiddos and a group from our church on a mission trip in Mexico.  We were visiting a school called “Rancho Sordo Mudo”, it’s a school for deaf children, and they live there 9 months of the year.  It is an amazing place, so rural, and definitely set in the middle of nowhere – a mix of desert and lush wine valley – but very remote… very serene.  Very deliberate.  Absolutely wonderful.
2. What’s something you’re ‘in the middle of’ today or this week? 
We moved into our house 6 weeks ago, and I still feel like we are in the middle of trying to get everything settled!  And yes, I know it has ONLY been 6 weeks… but you’ve got to understand, we used to be military, I’m used to being all settled within 3 weeks!  And we have family visiting soon, and a high school graduation party to host, and all sorts of craziness this next month, and not enough budget to do what I’d like to have done to the house and yard before we entertain…
So it’s all about letting go… right?
3. At what age do you think ‘middle age’ begins? What does it mean to be ‘middle aged’? 
I’ve always thought of “middle age” as being in the 50s, but now I’m thinking it’s more like late 50s through mid 60s.  Where you are still (hopefully) healthy enough to travel and enjoy grandbabies and such, but don’t have to work if you don’t want to… or, if you do work, it’s part time doing something you really enjoy.
4. Ravioli, stuffed peppers, samosas, deviled eggs, steamed dumplings, pierogis, or a jelly doughut…your favorite food (from this list!) with something yummy in the middle. Your favorite not on the list? 
Raviolis. Please. Now. (But not toasted like they do in St Louis – sorry, just not a huge fan)
My least favorite? Probably samosas.
5. Albert Einstein is quoted as saying ”In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.’ Would you agree? Have you found this to be true in your own life? Feel free to elaborate. 
Oh absolutely – in the midst of a difficult situation you have two choices, to let it grow you, or to let it destroy you.  Both options offer their own lessons and challenges.
And yes, I have definitely found this to be true – and I could (and probably will) write a book about this in our own life – in a nutshell, we left everything that was comfortable and secure and known 16 years ago when we left our home in Arizona and I followed my (I thought we were going to be school teachers) husband as he joined the Air Force as a pilot, with our 2-year-old son in tow, and went into Pilot Training in Columbus, Mississippi.  A year of training, of feeling more isolated and culture-shocked than I have ever been my entire life, the distance between my husband and I, the constant stresses on him and on our 6-year-old marriage, it was awful.  But I had a choice. I could throw in the towel, or I could stick with it.  I could reach out to trusted friends for support and prayer.  I could ask God to teach me through this experience.  And He did.  And He grew us, and we are good as a result.
6. What’s a song you remember loving from your middle school years? Do you love it still? 
Wait… you didn’t click on the link?  Come on – it’s, like, 2 minutes of your life…
And yes, it is STILL one of my all time favorite songs – I dedicated it to my bestie, John, when he moved from CA to OK during High School (Harrumph – still haven’t forgiven his parents for that one!) And I get a smile on my face every time I hear it.  Love you, John.  You’re my brother. My dear friend.  My brother.  There’s none like you.
7. May 18th is National Visit Your Relatives Day. Will you celebrate? Which relative would you visit if time, distance, and expense were not considered. 
Um, I didn’t know this was a thing… um… if I could visit my relatives? No expense, time, cost considered?  All of my family is here in southern California… so perhaps I would like to go to Kansas and see where my maternal grandparents grew up, or to Minnesota and see where my paternal grandmother grew up.  SO much history, lost…
8. Insert your own random thought here
So, while my hubs and I were in Mexico with our younger kiddos, our eldest got to hold down the fort at home while he went to Prom with his girl.  We had a friend (and 20-something-youth leader, so he’s still “cool”) stay here the weekend to hang with him – and yes, provide this over-protective mama with a security of knowing someone stateside would make sure he was home from prom ok.  Whatever.  He’s my first-born… I’m allowed to be a little overly-cautious, right?  But you guys, it was the best weekend… he and his sweet girl had a special time together, and when they got back, her parents were waiting up to hear about the whole night, and when he got home our friend was there wanting to hear the details to.  Oh, so blessed to have friends willing to stand in when we couldn’t be there… and we were serving our friends in Mexico, which was something we felt called to.  So awesome, how God provided in both places, for both sides our family…it was good.  So.  Good.
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

6 thoughts on “Prom, Mexico, and That’s What Friends are For…”

  1. Sounds like your son had a great prom! My son is a senior this year but elected not to go. He’s more of a computer gaming geek I guess – too shy to even talk to girls! lol Have a great week!

    Sherry

    Like

  2. Mexico is right next to Texas…so it seems to me we will need to meet in the near-ish future…just saying…❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ Love you, Sal!

    E

    Like

  3. I enjoyed reading that lovely ‘random.’ Just gives one a warm feeling. So nice. And okay, you insisted that I listen to the song, and I did, and wasn’t she fantastic. Really, such a beautiful sound. Love it. I enjoyed your Hodgepodge today. Have a pleasant afternoon and evening. I think you should go visit those people in Minnesota. Summertime in Minnesota and Wisconsin is the best. Ten thousand lakes in MN, 15,000 over here in Wisconsin. 🙂

    Like

  4. I clicked : ) My hubs saw her on a work trip to Las Vegas one year and said she was absolutley fantastic. My favorite Dionne song is Say A Little Prayer. Must be song with the lobster claw hands like they do in My Best Friend’s Wedding : ) Glad your son had a great time at the prom! The pictures on FB were lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

