A Mama’s Hodgepodge…

I’m back!  It feels like it has been forever since I Hodgepodged – or blogged – lately my schedule has had Tuesday night meetings or appointments or my kids need the computer and… yep… craziness ensues… but here I am!  Yay!  Lets Hodgepodge our way into May!

 

1. What’s something fun you’re looking forward to on your May calendar? 
This weekend my hubs and our two younger kiddos are going down to Mexico to serve on a mission trip – we are going to Rancho Sordo Mudo (“Ranch for the Deaf”), a home/school for deaf children.  It’s the most amazing experience – God gives a voice to the voiceless.  Their worship is unlike anything I have ever experienced… I can’t wait.
We will miss our eldest (who is staying here to take his girl to Senior prom) but we’ve got a good friend coming to stay with him for the weekend, and they will have a good time together. (And he assures me that prom is a bigger deal for the girls than for the guys… whatever… I’m still going to demand pictures and lots of them!)
2. What are some images that come to mind when you hear the word mother? 
My kids and I… and me with my mom and (in the second picture) with my grandmother…


3. What’s something beautiful you own or have seen that’s made of glass? 
The favorite thing I own that is made of glass is my corner china hutch – it belonged to my great grandmother, and I absolutely love it.  And yes, I go all “Mama Bear” on it whenever we move… it has curved glass, and I don’t even want to think about how hard it would be to replace any of the panes if they broke!  So far though, it has moved from CA to FL, to ID, and now three moves in CA.  Guess my “Mama Bear” has paid off!
I also love stained glass windows, and I’ve seen some beautiful ones inside of churches big and small…
4. Was today typical? If not what made it unusual? 
Yep, today was pretty typical – got up early and walked on the beach trail, stopped off for coffee before heading home and getting ready for work, then work all day, staff lunch, then home to make dinner and then take daughter to soccer practice and us to a meeting preparing for this weekend’s mission trip… a filled day for sure, but blessed as always!
5. What is a quality you wish you could have more of?
Drive.  As in, I know I’m really good at certain things, but don’t always put myself forward to take a risk and do those things in a professional setting.  I’m getting better at it though and am now teaching a class that I think I’m pretty good at and am LOVING it!
6. What’s the next major purchase you need to make? Will it happen in the month of May? 
Oh geez – we just bought this house and moved in, so the list is endless!  Probably the next major thing would be blinds for some of our windows – and yes, I hope it can be bought in May.
7. What responsibility/job/work did you dislike while growing up but has proved helpful to you as an adult?
I hated ironing – and not that I love it now, truthfully I avoid it at all costs, at least I know that if I really HAVE to, I know how to do it and how to do it well.  But I still don’t like doing it.
8. Insert your own random thought here.
So I’m going to take this random thought time to answer a question from last week’s Hodgepodge – I didn’t get to actually DO the Hodgepodge because my kiddo came home from his EMT class and needed my computer to do his homework and, harrumph, lets just say I can’t wait for him to have his own computer when he graduates! 🙂
So the question was, tell about a kitchen disaster you’ve had… and, well, while I could certainly tell you about my first Thanksgiving dinner which took all of 9 hours to prepare and we had to eat one course at a time and I”ll never ever live down… or about when I accidentally set fire to an entire set of Tupperware… um yeah, I’m just going to stop there!
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

7 thoughts on “A Mama’s Hodgepodge…”

  1. I agree with you about stained glass! I love seeing them in churches too! I hope your oldest has a fun and safe night at the prom. And, good wishes to all the other family members heading out for mission work. Awesome!

    Like

  2. I’m laughing at your random thought because I remember the time the maid at my boss’ house was all in a tither and put a casserole in the oven with the rubber lid on it. I smelled it and we caught it in time! She was totally mortified over that!
    You live where you can go on a beach walk? Lucky you!

    Like

  3. I, too, love stained glass! I think it’s wonderful that you and your family are going on a mission trip to Mexico. Have an absolutely wonderful time!

    Like

  4. Safe travels and may blessing abound! Hope you’re enjoying the new house and are beginning to feel settled. Happy Mothers Day!

    Like

    1. I can only imagine the pure beauty of watching the deaf worship the Lord. Sign language set to music elevates my heart just watching it! Sorry you have to miss your Big C’s prom night. I think he’s spot-on about it mattering more to girls, though.

      Like

  5. I love stained glass, too! My dad used to be a stained glass artist. I have several pieces and spoke about it on my blog. Love the photo of you and the C’s! Safe travels on your mission trip. That sounds like an amazing experience in so many ways. I also hate ironing- so thankful I can take it to the cleaners when I have to! Have a great Mother’s Day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

