A spring Perspective…

Webster defines Spring as: to move suddenly with force, to arise from, a resilient device which returns back to its original state after being stretched.

Spring.

Right now a lot is changing all at once (stretching) for our family.  My husband is home – springing into a new family dynamic, returning back to what we are supposed to be, arising from the difficulty of being separated due to his job. We are moving out of our rental and into our own home – springing into a new chapter for our family, setting down permanent roots in CA, leaving the unpleasantness of the past few months behind, arising stronger and more secure.  But my grandmother is not doing well and we are looking at springing into a new reality, our family without my Granny, the kids’ G.G.  That spring hurts.  Like being stretched, uncomfortably, knowing it is inevitable and yet resisting… Spring.  New growth is beautiful, but the breaking through can hurt.

Lets Hodgepodge.

 

1. Has spring sprung in your little corner of the world? Other than the calendar how would I know? What’s your favorite thing about spring?
Well, I live in southern California, which really only has one season (and believe me, I hear about it every time we go above or below 75 degrees here! It is quite humorous)…  and I’ll admit I do miss four distinct seasons at times… but my daffodils that I planted in the fall are blooming, the few trees that are bare have new growth appearing, and the days are longer.  That’s how you know it is spring around here!
2. Besides the weather, what’s put a spring in your step recently?
The thought of leaving this house and moving into our new one!  The flood in January, living with ripped up floors/walls/bathrooms, being given a 30 day eviction notice, then another flood last week, and then the landlord’s gardeners kicked up a rock with their lawnmower and shattered a window.  Seriously, enough is enough!
3. How does Easter impact you?
It is everything.  Without Easter, without Christ’s resurrection, there is no hope.
4. I saw this somewhere on Facebook and thought it would make a fun Hodgepodge question. Which of the following would you find most disappointing…

a just stuffed taco shell breaking open and spilling out before you take the first bite? dropping a just-purchased Starbucks/Dunkin Donuts coffee? opening the peanut butter jar and finding it empty? upending onto the sidewalk a just-purchased ice cream cone? a burnt bagel popping up in your toaster when you’re rushing breakfast? or cutting into an avocado and finding out it’s rotten? 

Well, just this morning I dropped a just-purchased Starbucks coffee all over my best friend’s birthday card (Hi John!)… this, after I was treating myself to Starbucks after injuring myself on my beach walk that morning.  Ugh.  But ultimately, there’s nothing more frustrating than cutting into an avocado and finding it is rotten – gross!  You just can’t redeem that.
5. What’s something held together with tape at your house? Or a paper clip? Or a wing and a prayer?

I actually do have a curtain rod that is held together with tape… it was JUST BARELY not long enough to go over my window, and ya know, I really didn’t want to buy another curtain rod for a rental house, for one stupid window.  So, I used tape to stretch it that extra 1/8″ that I needed.  And it worked!  (I also have another curtain rod that has a twig from my tree giving it the added 1/32″ needed… hey, necessity is the mother of invention!)

6. Do you feel underappreciated? In what way?
At times, yes.  I’m a wife, a mom, an administrative assistant, a deacon.  All service positions, all time consuming, all easy to be taken advantage of at times… and all worth it.  I wouldn’t trade any of it.
7. What’s something you’d build if you knew how?
A homeless shelter for our community.  We really need one.

Personally, A wall for our new home (creating a bedroom for our eldest), and custom built-ins for our new family room/master bedroom.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

This whole house situation has proven to be a test in patience and submission that I didn’t realize I needed to learn!  It is Tuesday night.  Our house is supposed to close escrow on Friday.  The underwriters still have not gotten us our loan documents, and keep requesting last minute job clarifications and explanations that drive us crazy because they have HAD weeks to ask for all of this!  We have to be out of our rental next Wednesday.  And my grandmother is in a coma and may not make it through the weekend.  And it is Holy Week (I work at a church, so THAT’S crazy this time of year)  And I really want nothing more than to sit at our Lord’s feet, breathe Him in, and focus on Easter… and breathe… and breathe…

and then I’m reminded… what were the pressures on our Lord, and how pale are my own situations?  He was betrayed.  Surrounded by mobs of people who one day were shouting praises, asking Him to be their King, and the next day calling for His execution.  His own best friends failed him in his greatest hour.  He was headed to the cross.  And He knew it. And not only was He headed to his own death, but He knew He was going to be taking on our sins, going to hell and back… His work was not done.

 

What I’m going through is so temporary… and so incredibly unbelievably insignificant in the scheme of things.  We have amazing people working on our behalf.  My hubby and I can go and be with my grandmother tomorrow, pray over her, and support my parents.  My job is incredibly supportive, for which I am so thankful.  And my kids are healthy, amazingly adaptable, and love the Lord.

I am blessed.  Not insignificant in His eyes.  Truly. Blessed.  I’m springing forward.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

6 thoughts on “A spring Perspective…”

  1. You are incredibly blessed and loved, and while having all of this happen right near Easter and Holy Week it seems like it is a wonderful way that God is reminding you that things will get better and bloom again. Prayers for peace, assurance and comfort in the midst of moving chaos and sadness over your Grandmother go up for you daily.

    Like

  2. You do have an awful heavy load just now, and I think you should listen to your heart and breathe in Easter. I have been where you are with home closings-ugh!! and will pray all the docs get where they need to be with time to spare.

    Like

  3. Prayers for peace and calmness to come over you during this anxious time. Love what you wrote for #8…spot on! Happy Easter!

    Like

  4. You clearly have inner strength in the way that you acknowledge all that is going on but then put it all into perspective. I hope everything comes together with the house purchase. Stressful times. I hope you manage to enjoy Easter or at least slow down just a little and get some time with your grandmother.

    Like

  5. What a beautiful post! You are right. Our pressures pale in comparison to the suffering of our Lord. I trust and pray that all that needs to be done will be, and praying your time with your grandmother will be blessed.

    Like

Leave a comment