Better Late than Never

So my weekly Hodgepodge is normally written on Tuesday evenings.  But yeah, it’s now 10pm on Wednesday.  Obviously… life happened.  As it tends to do.  But here I am, computer open, glass of wine on the table, cheese and nuts to snack on, and I’m ready  to Hodgepodge!  Let us away, friends!

 

1. March is National Women’s History Month. In that vein, who are three women who’ve been influential in your life? How so?
Only 3?  Seriously?  OK, the ones that come to mind immediately are:
1)  My paternal grandmother, Grandma Claires – a genuine Hollywood flapper in the ’20s, she was beautiful and sweet and grew strawberries that she let me pick, and my daughter is named after her.  She even remembered me when she had Alzheimers!  She passed away much too young.  I miss you!
2) Stacey Herring – gave me hope, friendship, and encouragement during military pilot training.  Such a strong, Godly woman, I truly believe she was God-sent when I was at my darkest point.  Thanks Stace!
3)  Julie Vlieg & Ellen Glasshagel – I have to mention these two at the same time, because they are inseparable in my mind!  Both were mentors to me when I was a newlywed, and we have prayed each other through some major life events, have had some serious giggle-infested weekend visits, and can throw down some mean dance moves at the drop of a hat!  I love them dearly.
2. In what ways do you think women have it easier than men? 
I can’t think of any way we have it “easier” – not that we have it “harder” per say, it’s just different.  (I mean, for Pete’s sake, men can go to the bathroom ANYWHERE, STANDING UP)  Don’t get me started.  I will say that, generally, it is still expected that men will provide the majority of the income and financial stability for the home, and that’s a huge pressure that I don’t envy.
3. What do you need most right now: faith, love, hope, or peace? 
Peace.  That our housing situation will work out.
4. Do you have a collection? If so, what do you collect and why? 
Not a collection per say, but I do have several Willow Tree statuettes – they all convey such emotion and are beautiful in their simplicity.  I bought our first one (a father/daughter) for my hubs when we were expecting our daughter.  My hubs and I bought this one while we were on a weekend trip right before he left for Iraq…
5. Plaids, checks, polka dots, stripes…your favorite?
Ooh, I love polka dots.  So fun.  Especially when least expected – like on galoshes or a flower pot.  (And not too many, or it makes your eyes go funny.)
6. In what ways are you the same as your childhood self?
I still love to read.  I still detest math and budgets.  And I still love my Granny.
7. You’re a contestant on the TV game show Jeopardy. What category will you ace?
Is there a Downton Abbey category?  🙂
8. Insert your own random thought here.
So we are still waiting for all of the endless companies to dot the i’s and cross the t’s to get our house closed by the end of March.  I know it is all for our protection, and the sellers have been very good about getting things done that we have already noticed, but STILL… there lies that fear that at the last moment the underwriters will say “Nope” and we will be stuck without a place to live on April 1.  So please, pray everything goes smoothly, that God will be in all the details (like He already is!), and that we as a family will be confident and in prayer over God’s provision during this time.
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

4 thoughts on “Better Late than Never”

  1. Are you sure you didn’t just borrow and tweak some of my answers??!! Too funny how similar they/ WE are, friend! I mean, I almost prefaced my HP with how I was late to the party because I normally write it on Tuesday night. I agree with your hubs… Our real life meeting is inevitable.

    Praying peace for your hearts and minds all the details of your adventure. It’ll all work out.

    Like

    1. Praying for your house situation. My oldest and her husband just went through this same ordeal. They finally closed, but now are dealing with paint, pop corn ceilings, and caulking. It’s always something! I love polka dots, too. Have a toad-ally awesome week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

