Lets hear it for March!

January brought the bathroom flood in our downstairs.  February brought the landlords telling us we had to move out.

So here’s praying that March brings new beginnings!  And with that, lets Hodgepodge our way into a new month!

1. February ended with an extra 24 hours in 2016. What did you do with your bonus day?
I honestly didn’t do anything special – work, school, carpools, gymnastics practice… it’s our life!
2. What’s something in your life that’s grown by leaps and bounds in recent days, weeks, months, or years? I’m giving you lots of room to come up with an answer here, so no fair passing on this one.
My self confidence has grown by leaps and bounds in recent years.  Joining the work force, being recognized for the skills I possess, and learning how to make good boundaries with my time, my family, and being deliberate with what I spend my energy on… all good things that have lead to a self confidence that I didn’t have before.  It’s good.
3. Do you read reviews about a film before deciding if you’ll see it? Did you watch The Oscars this year, and if so your thoughts on the program? How many of the Best Picture nominees had you seen prior to the broadcast? (Spotlight, The Martian, The Big Short, The Revenant, Mad Max: Fury Road, Room, and Brooklyn) If you watched The Oscars who gets your award for ‘best dressed’?
I do read reviews, but I also take them with a grain of salt… especially the “professional” movie critics… I mean, it’s their JOB to be critical.  I remember once I read reviews on a kids movie that were not favorable, so I didn’t take the kids to see it.  Later we watched it as a rental, and it is one of our family favorites now!  (It was Bedtime Stories, btw.  Cute movie!)

The only movie I had seen that was nominated for Best Picture was The Martian – which I absolutely loved!  (Though I thought putting it in the comedy category was an odd choice)

I didn’t watch the Oscars, so I don’t know who was best dressed in Hollywood that night – but a friend showed me this the other day… I mean, for all we spend glamorizing the celebrities, how weirdly bizarre and amazing is this creature, and it happens all by themselves!

f0c09fc849343bd69056649414e6ba6b

What is it, you ask?  It’s a Christmas Tree Worm!  I know, right?  (Thanks to Brant for showing this weirdly cool yet kinda disturbing creature)
4. When did you last have overnight houseguests? Give us your top three tips on being a good houseguest.
Our last overnight houseguest was my sis-in-law, Traci!  Bless her heart, she came to visit at the end of a business trip, and that was the week of our house flood, my friend’s stroke, and my son’s wisdom teeth surgery.  What a week!  But, as always, she brings lots of love and laughter and support, and I love every minute with her!

FullSizeRender

Top three gifts of being a good houseguest:

  1. Bring wine or flowers, take them out to dinner, some type of “thank you for letting me stay at your home” gesture
  2. Always let your hosts know when you will be arriving and leaving, so they can adjust their lives accordingly
  3. Make memories!  Laugh – play games – take walks together – share your hearts.

5. March 2nd is Peanut Butter Lover’s Day. Will you be celebrating? If so, would you prefer a home made peanut butter cookie, a Reese’s peanut butter cup, an old fashioned peanut butter and jelly sandwich, or shall I just hand you a jar and a tablespoon?

Oh, I love peanut butter!  And yes, I think I shall celebrate accordingly – any of the ways Joyce mentioned are find with me!  Perhaps I will add some peanut butter to my chocolate protein shake this morning!

6. Why is failure important? Or isn’t it?

I think failure is very important – it is humbling, it is insightful, and it hurts, which is valuable in itself.  I can’t think of anything more formative than the times I have failed – in business, in relationships, in behavior.

7. Share with us one fun thing on your March calendar.
This Saturday is my birthday!  And my cousin is getting married!  So we get to get all dressed up (it’s black-tie optional, so very fancy schmancy) and go to a gorgeous venue overlooking the beach, with live music, and lots of family I haven’t seen in a long time.  It should be a wonderful day!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

So last week we put in an offer on a home!  And our offer was accepted!  But – with the caveat that the sellers would not pay for any additional repairs on the home except for the termite repairs.  We were at the house over the weekend and saw a few things that alarmed us, but the inspection was yesterday and they don’t appear to be anything too major.  We will know more when we get the full report and our realtor can talk to their realtor and yadda yadda yadda… buying a home is crazy out here, SO expensive, but this is a good investment for us, and our kids can be in the same schools, and I can keep my job, and the street name is Enrique, which my friend Zo tells me is Spanish for Henry, which is our last name, so there you go, it’s a sign!  🙂  Prayers appreciated as we take this huge gigantic leap of faith!

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

4 thoughts on “Lets hear it for March!”

  1. What a splendid way to celebrate your birthday! I love black tie! Best wishes on the home buy. It’s stressful, but in the end it will be yours and that’s a blessing.

    Like

  2. I have never heard of a Christmas tree worm? How cool! Praying that all goes smoothly with your housing situation. God has it all under control! Wishing you the HAPPIEST of birthdays!

    Like

  3. I love you, Friend! Continued prayers over your housing situation, of course. Happy birthday a wee bit early! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

