A break from the chaos…

Landlord drama (oy!).  Hubby is home (yay!).  My youngest turned 12 (yay!).  Our house is a shambles of contractor mess and boxes (oy!).  Never a dull moment in our household… but lets close our eyes to the chaos and Hodgepodge! (yay!)

 

1. February 17th is National Random Acts of Kindness Day. It lands on the calendar one day after National Do Something for a Grouch Day (February 16) which somehow feels related. Perhaps the 16th inspired the 17th?

Tell about a time you performed a random act of kindness or were the recipient of one. Will you make an effort to perform a random act of kindness on the 17th? Share details if you’re so inclined, and if you have something specific in mind.

Really?  There’s a “Do Something for a Grouch” Day?  That’s hilarious.  Perhaps I should have done something for my landlords, who are decidedly grouchy and not nice right now… instead of being tempted to blow dandelions across the lawn!  (Just a warning, the housing thing is a HUGE hassle right now – it may or may not be a theme in today’s HP answers… just saying…)

I’ve had a sweet friend bring me Starbucks coffee, “just because” – just to know I was thought of makes me smile!  (And I’ve done the same for others!)  I’ll do my best to do a random act of kindness – but what I love about it is that it’s spontaneous, so I don’t have any plans quite yet…

2.What’s the most uplifting or encouraging thing you see happening in the world right now? You may have to dig deep for this one.

Whenever I get sick and tired of all of the negativity, I go to THIS SITE… it’s all happy news!  Last weekend, Tim Tebow’s foundation sponsored “A Night to Shine” – putting on over 200 proms across the nation for those with special needs who might not otherwise get to attend a special night like that.  It is sponsored by local (and not so local) celebrities, (in fact, I heard about it from the Brant and Sherri podcast that I listen to – which is an awesome Christian talk podcast, very funny, very inspiring, if you are looking for that sort of thing!)  But I digress… the point is, there IS good stuff going on out there, people DO want to do good things, and we need to celebrate that!

3. Black olives, black currants, black grapes, black beans, blackberries, Oreos…your favorite food the color of night? Your least favorite on the list?

My favorite would be Oreos… I mean, how can you go wrong?

I can’t say that I’ve ever had a black currant, but I do know I don’t particularly care for black grapes.

4. A while back I read (here) a list of twelve things you should do before you turn 50. They were-

travel when you have the chance, take care of your skin, learn a foreign language, make exercise a habit, leave a toxic situation, stop caring what others think about you, stop worrying, volunteer, spend time with your grandparents, pledge to work less, learn to cook an amazing dish, and seize an opportunity as it arises

What do you think of the list? What would you add or remove and why? If you’re over 50, have you done all 12? If you’re not yet 50, have you done any at all? What’s on the list that you haven’t done, but would like to do?

While I think these are all worthy goals, I would hope that most of us wouldn’t wait until we are 50 to do them!  Especially spending time with your grandparents – honestly, by the time you are 50, your grandparents are most likely gone!  Don’t wait for that one!  I’ve done most of these, but always struggle with the “Stop caring what others think of you” – that, my friends, is a life long lesson best learned WAY before you are 50!

5. Besides the classic Christmas flicks, what’s your favorite film where winter plays a part in the setting?

Little Women!  Or Grumpy Old Men.  Classics, both of them!

6.When did you last feel helpless, and what did you do about it?
Lately I’ve been feeling pretty helpless about our situation with the landlord – no matter how we try to negotiate and be reasonable, they are not willing to budge and are not willing to allow us to stay here.  Very frustrating, the lack of professionalism and compassion.  So what are we doing about it?  We are house hunting, packing, and I talked to a lawyer last night, just to protect ourselves.  I don’t really want to go to court over this, but we may have to.

7. Share a favorite proverb. 
“A nagging wife is like a dripping faucet” – Proverbs 27:15.  I have held on to this since our days of engagement, and it has helped me hold my tongue many times!  I know my husband is grateful!  (There are other ways to get your point across than by nagging!)

8. Insert your own random thought here

So yeah… no love from the landlords.  And at one point over the weekend we had BOTH toilets upstairs not working, so we were without bathrooms. And my eldest kiddo’s fish died – I put on Facebook “Our fish died and I don’t have a toilet to flush him in!  RIP, sweet Ricardo!”  When I texted our landlord, there was no response.  He is being completely unreasonable, and so now we are scrambling.  Very frustrating, but not much we can do about it.  Please pray for us to have wisdom through this situation, to know what battles are worth fighting, and for us to be clear on whether we can/should buy a house or rent again.  There are many pros and cons to both sides…

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

6 thoughts on “A break from the chaos…”

  1. Prayers for the housing situation, and your own personal peace! Hug D for me…and all my mini Henry’s! (Let’s just not talk about how NOT MINI they actually are!) Love you!
    E

    Like

  2. What a lot of stress! I do hope there was some kindness extended to you in your day, and in this season of moving once more. Hugs to you Sally…take care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

