It’s a lovely day…

Ahh, the Hodgepodge… a time to sit back and wander through random questions of nothing, and yet everything.  To examine your heart, to give thought to things you may not have thought of for a long time.  To visit.  Come with me.

1. Create an acrostic using the word LOVE. If you’re unsure what an acrostic is click here. 

Ha!  I just got done suggesting to my son that he write an acrostic for his girlfriend for Valentines Day.  OK. I’ll admit it, it’s kinda lame, especially for an 18-year-old… but here goes!

L- laughter! Nothing like shared laughter!

O- overboard! Yep, gotta go overboard for those you love

V- voracious. Enough said.

E – Everyday, it’s an every day choice to love!
2. Does love really conquer all? Why or why not?
Not always.  You can have the greatest intentions, the greatest love for those around you, but when push comes to shove, it doesn’t always work out.  But, that being said, if you go into every situation with an attitude of love (oh my, how that is hard sometimes!) then at least your conscience is clear at the end of the day!
3. Tell us about a time recently, where you really put your heart into something.
Well, lately it has been trying to figure out a way to NOT have to move in 6 weeks!  I mean, SERIOUSLY!!! (more on that later)
4. What’s your favorite fictional love story?
Right now I’m reading the Outlander Series, and I’m loving the story of Claire and Jaime!  Wow…
5. Do you generally wear your heart on your sleeve, or keep your cards close to the vest?

Yeah, I’m pretty much an open book.  Even when I TRY to not let people know I’m upset, all they have to do is look in my eyes and all truth is revealed.  I’m a horrible liar.  Just Plain Heart. On. Sleeve.

6. What food says love to you? Why?
Dark, rich chocolate.  I don’t know why, it’s just soft and deep and full of complex character and flavors.  yummmmm…..
7. When were you last ‘tickled pink’ over something? Explain.
My kids.  They make me laugh.  ‘Nuff said!  Example – the other day the teenagers were bickering.  About shoes left in the living room.  Because THAT’S worth fighting about before Queen Mama has had her coffee.  So, instead of harping on BOTH of them for leaving their shoes, I simply stopped it all by standing still and singing at the top of my lungs the theme song from Mr Rogers Neighborhood “It’s a Lovely Day in the Neighborhood” – and you know what?  It worked!  They stopped their bickering, looked at me in horror, and I said “See?  And there’s more of THAT where it came from if you two don’t stop!”  And all was peaceful and well in our household.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

So… it has been a month since our downstairs flooded as a result of a faulty toilet.  LONG story short, instead of putting us in a hotel while the repairs are done, the landlords have asked that we move out.  Permanently.  In 6 weeks!  Good grief – friends, if you pray, please pray that they have some compassion, see that we are good tenants, and give us some grace to finish out the school year here in our home.  You can read more about it HERE.  Please pray… my husband is coming home after being gone for 18 months, our son graduates from HS in 4 months, we just want to BE instead of being forced from a home we enjoy, in a neighborhood we love, for reasons that are not our fault at all.  Pray for our landlords.  Pray for God’s provision no matter what the outcome.  Thanks.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

9 thoughts on “It’s a lovely day…”

  1. Life is certainly not dull in your neck of the woods. I will pray about your housing situation. It sounds stressful. So glad your hubs will be back home…when it comes to managing challenging situations two are better than one. Take care.

    Like

    1. I will have to try the singing to stop the mania. Although with only one kid at home now, the bickering is usually parent-child! Praying your situation is resolved legally and with grace.

      Like

  2. Dear friend – you and your home situation has been in my prayers since Sunday. But I will pray fervently for your landlords.

    Also – I love love love the story from question 7 because that is just so YOU and I can completely imagine you doing it, too! But, I must admit that I was a little startled when I read “teenagers” (plural) in that story. How can your kids keep growing up when we are (of course) not aging!?!

    Blessing on your day, friend!!

    Like

  3. I love you. Please come get me from this place so we can find houses together, so we can be neighbors. I think that’s the only solution to your housing woes. C’mon…I’ll make you a lasagna…and brownies…and pour a generous few glasses of wine…pleaseohpleaseohplease……?!!

    Like

  4. Love your response to the teens. Sometimes, it takes something random to get their attention. Will pray for your situation. It’s no fun in an unsettling situation. Glad your husband will be home soon. Have a toad-ally awesome week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

