Eating the mana…

A flood in our downstairs.  Ripped out drywall.  Torn up floors.  Bathroom demolished.  Cranky landlords.  A sick grandma.  A critically ill friend.  Work transitions.  Teenage hormones.  Soccer tournaments.  Hubby still gone.  What a whirlwind of emotions and challenges these past couple of weeks has been – can’t say I’ll be sad to see January 2016 over and done with!  So, lets grab a cup of coffee, and enjoy our last Hodgepodge of January!

 

1. Share a winter memory from your childhood. 

Well, since I spent my childhood in southern California, we didn’t really HAVE winter – at least not in the sense that the rest of the country does!  I didn’t even see snow fall from the sky until I went to college!  I remember being dumbfounded when we moved away from CA to realize that flowers don’t grow year round, and trees and grass aren’t green all year.  What a sheltered life I led…
2. What was on your blog this time last year? (Besides the Hodgepodge of course!) If you weren’t blogging, what in the world were you doing with all that free time?
The Hodgepodge has pretty much taken over my blog – any free time (HA!) I have is spent working on my book – I’ve actually got two I’m working on, one is more therapeutic, the other is called “Being Henry”  It’s fun!
3. Ellen Goodman is quoted as saying, ‘We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched. Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives…not looking for flaws, but for potential.’ 

Do you see more flaws or more potential in your life at the start of a new year? Have you done anything specific this month to address either one? Does the new year truly begin for you on January 1, or is there some other month of the year that feels like a fresh start and new beginning?
Hmm, I like that idea, focusing on the positive instead of the negative – I’m eating better, which has made a lot of difference in my energy level and how my clothes fit, which is nice!  I’m also looking forward to my hubby being home – we are all DONE with being apart.  You’re just not meant to do it all alone, ya know?
4. Who’s an athlete you admire or respect and why?
Gabby Douglas – her story is incredible, coming from a single parent family, not financially secure, the sacrifices her mom made for her to train and live with a host family across the US in order to eventually compete in the 2010 Olympics and become the first African American to win numerous meals in gymnastics.  (There is a movie about her life on Netflix, it’s pretty good!)
5. Do you like cream in your coffee? Whipped cream on your pumpkin pie? Cream cheese on a bagel? Sour cream on a baked potato? Cream of wheat for breakfast? Have you ever had a scone with clotted cream? Of all the creamy foods mentioned, which one sounds most appealing to you right this very minute?

Cream in my coffee, yes please.  And whipped cream on my pumpkin pie.  And cream cheese on a bagel.  All of it sounds amazing!

And yes, I have had scones with clotted cream – not my favorite, but definitely appropriate for watching the Downton Abbey premiere!
6. Where were you last kept waiting for ‘hours on end’? Or for what felt like hours on end? How well did you cope?
Yesterday the entire staff was in a planning/vision meeting all day.  Leaving just me and another Admin Assistant in the office.  It. Was. So. Slow.  Seriously, even the phone didn’t ring much yesterday!  Once they got out of their meeting though, the last hour of work was crazy busy!
7. Believe it or not, when next week’s Hodgepodge rolls around it will be February. Huh?!? Bid adieu here to January in seven words or less.
See my intro? See ya January!
8.  Insert your own random thought here

Last week I told you about my sweet friend, Danielle.  She suffered a massive brain bleed two weeks ago and has been in the ICU ever since.  In the past few days, she has been taken off the ventilator and is breathing on her own – but we still don’t have an accurate assessment of what damage has been done, what can be accomplished with therapy, etc.  She will be moved soon into a long-term nursing facility.  My heart breaks for her husband, her boys, their whole world shattered and scattered, filled with the unknown, the questions, the financial stress, the grief of what was, and not knowing what will be.  Friends, please pray for miracles – for her to be able to come home and be mama and wife and daughter and friend, to smile and laugh…

Ann Voskamp posted this on her blog this week:

The grace that’s in this moment is your mana.

Wish for the past and you drink poison.

Worry about the future and you eat fire.

Stay in this moment and you eat the mana needed for now.

January 2016, you’ve been challenging for sure.  February 2016, we are hoping for better things form you.  Please don’t let us down!  In the meantime, I’m eating the mana.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

6 thoughts on “Eating the mana…”

  1. Sally. I love you. This is one of those posts that is so full and personal. I miss you, my Friend…but I miss being able to be there for you in person even more. Praying for you and yours, Danielle, and for a better February than January…for all of us…

    Love always,
    E

    Like

  2. Ann Voskamp is so wise. I will be praying for your friend. Such a lot that feels impossible, but nothing is too hard for God. Hugs to you my blog friend…you’re carrying a heavy load at the moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

