No more blinking!

I blinked.  Thanksgiving was over, the Advent season began (and when you work at a church, you know how crazy that gets!), I blinked, and Christmas was over and I had taken a month off from the Hodgepodge!  I missed it, but you know, the break was kinda nice too… but now, it’s a new year!  And I’m back, refreshed and ready to go again!  Lets Hodgepodge, friends!

 

1. Are you ready for new? Is 2016 likely to be very different than 2015? Do you want it to be?

Well yes, I’m already thinking that 2016 will be completely different from 2015 in that my hubby is coming home!  To make a long story short, after being away for 18 months, his job is allowing him to come home and work from here!  Yay!  How awesome is it to be thinking of events in the next several months and not have to think “Oh, I wonder if he will be here for that” !

2. January 6th is National Technology Day. Currently, what is your single biggest struggle or frustration when it comes to technology?

My phone. It took a dive in some water a few months ago and, well, though it “works” it doesn’t like to hold a charge for very long.  Very annoying.  But not annoying enough to spend $300 on another phone.  Not yet.

3. It’s that time again…time for Lake Superior University to present a list of words (or phrases) they’d like to see banished (for over-use, mis-use, and general uselessness) in 2016. You can read more about the decision making process here, but this year’s top vote getters are-

So (at the start of every single sentence), conversation (as in hotly debated topics where we’re invited to ‘join the conversation’), problematic, stakeholder, price point, secret sauce, break the Internet, walk it back, presser, manspreading (common in larger cities where some men take up the entire bus or train seat by sitting wide), vape, giving me life (refers to anything that may excite a person or make them laugh), and physicality

Which of these words/phrases would you most like to see banished from everyday speech and why? Is there a word not on the list you’d like to add?

I’d love to see “break the Internet” be banished forever because, really?  how stupid is that saying.  And it just makes me think of Kim Kardashian’s greasy fat butt, and ewwwww!!!!!

4. Share one of your current health related goals.

Down 10 lbs since October – trying for 5 more, and hoping to maintain!

5. Let’s talk fifty shades of gray. As in the color. Gray is currently a popular color in home decor, paint, wardrobes, hair, wedding party attire, and more. Are you a fan? Do you have the color in some variation in your home or wardrobe?  Gray hair, the old gray mare, gray matter, gray area…which gray idiom can you most relate to right now?

I don’t mind the color gray – I love a smoky dark gray blue, it reminds me of the ocean at sunset… But I DO go to lengths to cover up the grey in my hair which has been appearing since my early 20s… thank you, no.  I don’t decorate much in gray, but I do have some pretty gray sweaters that I love! (Including one given to me this Christmas by my eldest C!)

6. Certain foods are considered ‘lucky’ if eaten on New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day. Cooked greens to bring economic fortune, black-eyed peas or lentils also symbolize money, pork which symbolizes progress, fish for good luck, and if you’re in Spain 12 grapes at the stroke of midnight. Did you eat any lucky foods on the first day of the year? Is that a tradition in your home? Of the foods listed, which most appeals to you?

I’ll be honest, I had never heard of the black eyed peas tradition until I moved to the South 16 years ago.  You want traditions, move to the South, people!  I didn’t purposefully eat any lucky foods on Jan 1, but I did have several glasses of wine, so maybe the 12 grapes thing applies? 🙂

7. What’s the single biggest time waster in your life and what, if anything, will you do about it this year?

Oh that’s easy – it’s Facebook.  But, I do love it… I love the connection with friends, the fun articles shared, and laughing at those who take simply comments WAY too seriously… but it does take up time that I could spend, oh, I don’t know. writing the all-American-great-novel or something…

 

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Newsflash – Southern California got rain today!  3 whole inches in my town.  Which is a lot for us… because, you know, we’ve been in a massive drought.  Like, for a long time now.  So this whole El Nino thing is kinda welcome, even though people here do NOT know what to do when the weather is anything but sunny.  Seriously, it’s hilarious.  My coworker sent me this today… this is not far from the truth, people.

 

 

 

 

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

5 thoughts on “No more blinking!”

  1. I’m so happy to hear that D is coming home!!!! Best.thing.ever. Maybe that good news will be like a lullaby for me…I hate insomnia, but I love you! ❤️❤️❤️
    -Erika

    Like

  2. I’m so excited that the Hubs is returning home!! I was so hoping and praying that 2016 would somehow allow you all to be back together. Yay!! 🙂

    Like

  3. I am glad that your husband is coming home. How exciting! Your rain comment reminded me of a song from long ago with the lyric “it never rains in Southern California” but now I can’t remember the song. I’ll have to google it 😉

    Like

  4. FB can easily take up the better part of my day, so I’m trying to get a handle on it. Like you, I do love it because it helps me stay in touch with friends and family from afar.

    Like

  5. We’ve had an abundance of rain here in SC. I don’t want to complain because I know some years there is none, but we’re building and rain and home building do not mesh well. I’m thrilled to hear your good news! Yay! Happy new year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

