A crisp fall Hodgepodge!

Come friends, and join me… Sitting here in my flannel pjs, warm fuzzy slippers on, fire in the fireplace, instrumental music playing… kids asleep, a fresh cup of coffee to my left, lights dimmed just enough to not be harsh… its a crisp morning here in my little beach town… and so lets chat, er, Hodgepodge on this beautiful fall morning before the day roars to life!

1. What’s surprised you most about your life, or about life in general?
Wow, talk about jumping right into the deep thought questions!  Suffice it to say, I’ve experienced more sorrow and joy than I would have ever thought to imagine.  I’m also stronger than I would have ever imagined I would be.
2. Among others, these ten words were added to the Oxford English Dictionary this year…awesomesaucebeer o’clockbrain fartbuttdialcat cafe (apparently this is a real thing), fatberg (gross-read the definition here)fat shamehangryMx (gender neutral), and skippable. 

Your thoughts? In looking over the list, which word do you find most ridiculous? Which word would you never in a million years say out loud? Which word would you be most likely to use in conversation?

 

Every year I hear this list and scratch my head…  I would never in a million years use cat cafe or fatberg… I mean, WHY?  I do use “hangry” and “awesome sauce” though – I’ve got teens, so I know what’s what!  (Well, not really… but I get the gist… I think…)  My eldest child DEFINITELY gets hangry… I may or may not have threw a granola bar at him at one point last week during one particularly grumpy lack-of-food moment!
3. Do you like gravy? Is there a food you’d rather not eat unless it comes with gravy? Do you make your own or buy the canned or store-made variety? Turkey and gravy, sausage gravy, mashed potatoes and gravy, country ham and red eye gravy, biscuits and chocolate gravy, pot roast and gravy…which one on the list is your favorite?

I do like gravy – and I make my own, or sometimes I do buy the store-made but then add things to it to make it taste better.  Pot roast is just not good without gravy… and mashed potatoes… and there goes my diet…

4. Do you have a plan? Do you need a plan? Have you ever had a plan fall into a trillion pieces? Explain.

Um, this is a very generic question… right now my “plan” is to get through this year of my son’s senior year, hopefully have my hubby be able to come back from his contract job and be with us permanently, and get through the holidays with little or no family drama!  And yes, I have had a plan fall completely to pieces… when my husband’s business was destroyed by greedy vengeful partners that demolished us in order to get back at someone else.  Corporate greed is a very real thing.

5. November 19 is National Play Monopoly Day. Do you own the original or some version of the game? Do you enjoy playing Monopoly? How likely is it you’ll play a game of Monopoly on November 19th? Ever been to Atlantic City? Ever taken a ride on a railroad? Is parking in your town free? Last thing you took a chance on?

Well, in our family we have the rule that my hubby and I can not play Monopoly without a marriage counselor in the room!  I seriously dislike the board game, to be honest… though I don’t mind playing it on the iPad!  So, highly unlikely that I will play on the 19th.  So many better games out there.

 

I have never been to Atlantic City, but have taken the train down to San Diego.  Parking is free in most places in my town, but down by the beach there are pay lots.  The last thing I took a chance on?  Leaving my kiddos with various family members this past weekend as I was treated to a weekend away by my sis-in-law!

6. A song you like that has the word (or some form of the word) thanks in the title, lyrics, or meaning?

This is the song that came into my mind… and now won’t leave!  It’s a good one – sing along!

The Golden Girls Theme Song!

7. In keeping with this month’s theme of gratitude….what is something you’re taking for granted that when you stop and think about it, you’re grateful for?

The ability to breath, walk, touch, see, hear.  A home to live in.  A car that drives.  A job that I enjoy.  Kids that make me laugh.  A husband that loves me more than the day he married me.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

So last week I spent Veterans Day with my 98-year-old grandmother – she was my first role model as a military spouse, and is an amazing woman.  I love being with her and seeing her interact with my kids!  Then, a few days later I flew up to Monterey to have a weekend with my bro-in-law and sis-in-law.  Spa, wine tasting, hiking through the redwoods, walking on the beach, meandering through pricey boutique shops in Carmel, snuggling with their fluffy kitty… it was a wonderful weekend away!  A very good week indeed…

IMG_2183

FullSizeRenderIMG_2630

 

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

4 thoughts on “A crisp fall Hodgepodge!”

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed your getaway! Our Christmas will look a bit different this year, and I’m trying to just roll with it : ) I tend to be that person who clings to holiday tradition, so I need to loosen the reins there this December. Most importantly , my married daughter and her hubs will be here, and that is an unexpected bonus, so I’m focusing on that.

    Like

  2. I loved your opening until I realised you were talking morning not late night lol. What a great age your Grandmother has reached and looks like you had a great weekend visit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

