Pumpkins, Poppies, and Phones

Good morning friends!  If you’d like to play along, or see what other fun bloggers are answering, click on the link below and check it out!  My coffee has not yet hit my system, so lets see how this morning’s Hodgepodge goes for me!  Come on, vanilla coffee goodness… let us away!

1. It’s October so let’s get this out there first thing…have you jumped on the all-things-pumpkin bandwagon? How so?
I don’t know about ALL things pumpkin – it seems to me that come the middle of September it is everywhere, isn’t it?  I mean, I LIKE pumpkin, but I think what used to be its draw was its rarity… now its in everything!  But, I will admit I enjoy the pumpkin spice lattes, and the pumpkin spice Eggo waffles that come out this time of year. Yummmmm…
2.  “We have more power than will; and it is often by way of excuse to ourselves that we fancy things are impossible.” Francois Duc De la Rochefoucauld  

What’s something you once thought impossible, but in hindsight see as more a matter of lack of will?

I’m having a hard time coming up with an answer to this one – mainly because I really do think that most things are not impossible if you have the strong will to do it.  Actually, I take that back… because I do know some people who have set a goal for themselves and have worked as physically and mentally hard at it to see its fruition, and in the end it didn’t happen for them.  But it wasn’t for a lack of trying.  So… I still don’t know how to answer that one.

On to the next…

3. The rose is America’s National Flower, but every state also has its own (click here to see the list). Are you happy with yours? If you were in charge what would you declare your state’s flower? If you’re outside the U.S. what bloom would you like to see labeled as your country’s national flower?

The California state flower is the California poppy, and it is a sweet little flower!  I remember learning about it in the 4th grade when we studied state history, and then I was so excited when my mom planted them in our garden that year!  If I were in charge, personally I think I’d stick with the California poppy – why mess with a good thing? 🙂
4. What have you lost interest in recently?

Junk food.  Seriously.  Not that I really craved it before, but I have been dieting for the last couple of weeks, substituting two meals a day with protein shakes, and I’m finding that I’m really liking the way I feel at the end of the day – snacking on low fat, high protein foods, drinking tea instead of wine at night (most nights, anyway), etc.  It’s a good feeling.

5. In your opinion, who’s the best living musician?

John Williams, hands down.  Just think of what an impact he has made on our world with his movie soundtracks – his music is the music of all of our childhoods!  Incredible.  My youngest son has even started picking out common themes in his music, discovering when he was working for different soundtracks at the same time… pretty cool.

6. S’mores-love ’em or no? Ever make them indoors? Last time you sat around an outdoor fire? Are making s’mores and sitting round a fire pit on your autumn bucket list? Do you have an autumn bucket list?

Oh yes, I love them!  Don’t normally make them indoors – we have a fire pit in our backyard, and we live at the beach, so there are some fire pits down there as well.  In fact, I was just down there at a beach bonfire on Saturday, celebrating my son’s girlfriend’s birthday with her family and friends.  Very fun.  I love sitting around a fire with the ones I love, the waves crashing in the background, the wind blowing softly, the smell of seaweed and sand and smoke mixing together.  Truly one of life’s treasures.

7. Your favorite small town? Why?

Cayucos, California!  It is where my hub’s family’s beach house is – it has a cute little downtown area with antique shops, a cookie store, coffee shops, and is full of memories for all of us.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I may need to go buy a new iPhone today, since mine took a swim the other night.  It was only in water for 2 seconds, and has been sitting in a bowl of rice for 2 days.  But now, though it is working, it won’t hold a battery charge over 40%, even plugged in, and the typing is really slow and my alarm wouldn’t shut off this morning.  Oy.  I was wanting a new phone, but the one I want is $300 – ouch!  And I was hoping that when I DID get a new phone, that my old one could be used as an iPod for my youngest son.  Sheesh… lets hope the iPhone repair place around the corner from my work can do their magic on it today!

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

5 thoughts on “Pumpkins, Poppies, and Phones”

  1. iPhones are so expensive, but I’d probably be pretty lost without mine, truth be told. Hope yours can be repaired. I’ve been veering away from junk food, too.

    Like

  2. Sorry about ye olde phone:( . I have yet to see mine take a toilet swim or a rice bath, but knock on wood. The fire pit at the beach you described sounds oooohhhh sooooo good right now. I didn’t make it to the beach ONCE this summer. Not once!

    Like

  3. I am so jealous of your beaches!! I would love to sit around a fire pit and listen to the waves crashing!! Love the state flower too. Good luck with the phone!!

    Like

  4. I’d love to add a beach bonfire to my bucket list. Sounds lovely. Sorry about your phone. We really are so dependent on them now, and I do hope it can be repaired. The tech people are pretty amazing, so maybe you’ll get lucky!

    Like

Leave a Reply

