Burning the midnight oil…

1. Last thing you did on the spur of the moment?

Not very exciting, but this afternoon when my Little C came home he asked if we could go get his trumpet today – so we did.  I had stayed home from work today with a bad head cold, so didn’t REALLY feel like going out, but we went… and the look on his face was so excited, it made it all worth it.

IMG_2026

2. How well informed do you feel about the current Syrian refugee crisis?

I am SO not informed about it… I really need to understand more about it.  But all countries need to band together to help with whatever means possible.  The images being shown are heartbreaking – and no matter what you feel about someone’s politics or religion, we are called to love first.

3. What have you changed your mind about? 

Exercise.  Losing weight.  I need to do them both.  Bleh.  But, I need to.

4. A medium sized non-poisonous snake found it’s way into the pool trap this weekend. If you’d been sitting poolside would you have fished it out? Gone running? Called for help? Pretended not to know? Continued swimming?

No way, Jose’, would I have been the one to fish it out.  Nor would I have gone running, nor pretended not to know, and I CERTAINLY would not have continued swimming because OH MY LANTA, CAN YOU EVEN…  – but I certainly would have called for help, then I would have been the designated “lets keep everyone away while the handsome young lifeguard does his thing by disposing of the reptile” helper.

5. September 10th is National TV Dinner Day…what’s your idea of a great TV dinner? (Or at least a pretty good one!) 

Chicken pot pies.  Yum.

6. Samuel Johnson is quoted as saying, “Courage is reckoned the greatest of all virtues; because, unless a man has that virtue, he has no security for preserving any other.” Would you agree? Where have you seen that played out recently? What’s the second greatest virtue?

Um… it’s almost midnight here… and I have a head cold… so I’m just going to say “Wow, that’s a cool quote, and I’d love to debate its merits and faults, but some other time when it is not midnight and I don’t have a head full of mucus.”

7. What are three words you have trouble remembering how to spell?

I’m actually a pretty good speller… but trying when to use “stationery” vs “stationary” always makes me pause!  Does that count?

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Our sunset tonight… sigh…. IMG_2027

via From This Side of the Pond.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

5 thoughts on “Burning the midnight oil…”

  1. Oh, chicken pot pies. Love those things (but rarely have them because ,you know, they don’t fare well with my weight loss goals). Stationery vs. Stationary. I just think an “e” is pretty, like pretty paper to write on .Does that help?

    Like

    1. Hope you’re feeling better. Lovely sunset pic. I always remember stationery for envelopes as it has an “e” in it. The one I often get stuck on is practice and practise. Often look it up just to be sure.

      Like

  2. Since a whole week has gone by, and I’m just now getting to read last week’s answers I do hope you’re finally feeling a lot better. My hubs played the trumpet. It’s a great instrument once they get the hang of it. Let’s face it, most instruments are a little hard on the ears in those early learning stages. I had a violinist at my house. Have mercy : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

