Directories, devotionals, and teen input…

1. What’s on your September calendar? Anything fun? 
The kiddos and I are heading up to a friend’s cabin in the mountains this weekend – we haven’t had a vacation in a long time, and while we are all sad my hubs can’t be here, it will still be nice to get out of town for a bit!
2. You might be described as a natural born _____________________?
I couldn’t think of an answer to this, so I asked my smart aleck-teenage son and his response was “American”  Which is true.  But still… it’s a good thing he’s cute.
3. September is National Courtesy Month…what one act of courtesy would you most like to see more of in your home, town, or the world at large? 
Boys being taught to be courteous to girls – simple things, like offering them a seat in the front of the car instead of making them climb to the back… holding the door open in stores or offices… saying “excuse me” when they burp!  Good grief…
4. Eager beaver, chicken out, clam up, or let the cat out of the bag…of the phrases listed, which one have you related to most recently? 
Actually, neither of them really…  I know, boring!
5. What’s your movie theatre snack protocol? Do you chow down on snacks during the previews or wait until the movie begins? Do you buy snacks or refuse to pay those kind of prices? What’s the last movie you saw in a theatre? How many thumbs up would you give it?
If I buy snacks at the movies, I do start eating them right away… can’t wait for the movie to start… but the prices are RIDONKULOUS!  When I was a youth director one of my teens worked at a movie theatre in town, and on his last shift there, he put up a sign at the concession stand that said “Financing Available!”  Too true!
The last movie I saw?  Rick and the Flash – it was fun!  3 out of 5 thumbs up.  Not as deep as I thought it was going to be, and it really could have been deeper, but the music was fun, and really, how can you go wrong with Meryl Streep?!
6. Henry Ford is quoted as saying, “Nobody can think straight who does not work. Idleness warps the mind.” Agree or disagree? Why?
Oh, I definitely agree – not that you have to “work” forever, but I think you need to be actively involved in something in order to keep your mind working!

 
7. What’s the last job you completed or task you performed where you had to ‘work like a dog’ until it was finished?
Oh, that’s got to be the church directory – I was in charge of putting it together, with the help of some awesome  Deacons, and let me just say… oy vey… what a job!  Hopefully we will have it in our hands soon!
Already I have people calling me at work asking when it will be here.  It takes all of my job training and Angels SENT DIRECTLY FROM HEAVEN COVERING MY MOUTH to not answer with an “IT WILL GET HERE WHEN IT GETS HERE!” retort…
8.  Insert your own random thought here. 
So today I was in charge of our staff devotional at work.  (I’m on staff at church, if you didn’t pick up on that in #7).  I was asked last week to fill in for someone who was going to be out of town… and um, I kinda forgot until I was DRIVING to work today!  But you know – God is good.  I got to work, and printed out a devotion that a friend had shared with me.  And then, as I sat there reading it, I was convicted… I heard God’s voice whispering to me “No… You know what you need to share.  Do it.”  And so, I printed out two blogs that I had written back in January of 2011.  At the time, my heart was heavy, my family was going through some turmoil, my husband was about to leave for Afghanistan… and God was speaking to me.  And so, I shared.  I cried as I read these words.  Because it not only applied to me then, it applies to me now, to a family division that I grieve, and to our church as we struggle with some very deep losses right now.  And it just spoke to me, like never before, how God is SO good… how He provides blessings that provide over and over and over again.  Here is a link to what I shared, if you are interested… (Read the one entitled “Blank Spaces” and then read “Hail Scars” afterwards.)  God is good, friends.   We don’t have to understand what is going on… but He’s right there with you in the middle of the silence, in the storm, and in the aftermath.
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

2 thoughts on “Directories, devotionals, and teen input…”

Leave a Reply

