Bring on the double-stuffed Oreos please

1. Way back when (the Hodgepodge bicentennial to be precise) several of you submitted questions as part of a giveaway I was hosting. I went back to that list for inspiration today and found a question  submitted by Marla, who blogs over at Marla’s Musings. Thanks Marla! 

She asks-At what age did you feel like a ‘grown-up’? What keeps you young now?   

When I was 18 and was starting college, realizing I could make any friends I wanted, I could eat whatever I wanted… Cereal for dinner?  YES!  Coffee with that guy I just met in English class?  YES! ” huge deals for me!  That was the first “Oh WOW!” moment I had… 

What keeps me young now?  Playing with my kids!  (And surely my moisturizer helps a little bit?)
2. When did you last buy a vehicle? Was this by design or because you had no other option? Was the car/truck purchased for your own personal use or was it bought for someone else to drive? On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being delightful and 1 being ‘pass the Excedrin’) how would you rate the experience?

The last time I bought a vehicle was in 2011, when my loyal Toyota Sienna minivan finally had some major repairs needed that outweighed its worth.  We drove that car to 190k miles!  So, as much as I would have loved a fun sporty little car, practicality raised it’s little head that with three kids still under the age of 14, it was on to a new minivan.  My hubby was deployed in Afghanistan at the time, so boy, THAT was a fun adventure, test driving vehicles, dealing with the various car salesmen, getting annoyed with the various car salesmen, then finally working with a friend from church who just happened to be a car salesman and I didn’t hold that against him (Hi Bill!)  – it was a moderate pain in the patootie, only because I was having to do all of the purchasing via power of attorney, which is NOT as easy as one would think, and hello – try to figure out how to explain to your insurance company that, no, you can not get your husband’s actual signature on the documents because, HELLO, he’s at WAR, and that’s why you HAVE the blasted Power of Attorney in the FIRST PLACE and oh-my-lanta, pass the Excederin and a box of double stuffed Oreos while you are at it.

I may need an oreo after rewriting that whole experience.
3. Corn bread, corn chips, corn pudding, corn on the cob, cornflakes, corn chowder-your favorite of the corn-y foods listed? What needs to be served alongside your selection?

I like them all!  But my favorite is probably corn chowder (is it ok if I put some clams or shrimp in it?) with a big loaf of yummy sourdough bread.  yummy…..
4. What’s something in your life that regularly requires you to ‘put your thinking cap on’?

Handling all of the various challenges that come up at home – just the endless “who is going where, at what time, do they need to eat/do homework/do chores beforehand or can it wait until after, and what ARE we having for dinner and how long will it take to prep, and if Middle C has to be at soccer at 4:30 but I don’t get off work until 4, how will I get home in time to get Middle C to soccer by 4:30 without having to run laps – that’s ME having to run laps because that’s how her coach does things, the PARENTS run laps if their child is late – because obviously people here aren’t used to there being two-income families, much less a full time working mom with a husband who is 2000 miles away working to provide for his family!  And if Big C has to be at band camp from 8-4, with a parent preview tonight at 6, and Middle C has a youth beach bonfire from 6-9, how am i possibly going to split myself in two to be at both places at the same time”

I need Oreos.
5. Share a favorite movie set in a school or classroom, or whose theme relates to school days in some way.
Dead Poets Society.  
6. Reading, writing, and ‘rithmatic’ are commonly referred to as the three R’s. What are the three R’s in your life right now?

Reorganizing – as in, the school schedule, carpools, sports, etc.

Relaying – info to my bosses, to my family, to others

Running – like a crazy woman! (but NOT on the soccer field, thank youverymuchcoach!)
7. What’s something you’ve learned or tried recently you can say was as ‘easy as ABC’?

Drawing a blank here… not much has been easy lately.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Ugh.  i have rewritten this paragraph three times and each time I just come off sounding cranky.  Not just cranky.  Like the “b” word that I won’t actually write because I try to keep this a family-friendly blog.  Like a woman who has had too little vacation this summer, or actually NO vacation this summer, and is more than a little frazzled at the approaching school year and all of the scheduling chaos that ensues, trying to figure out carpools and sports and church youth groups and how to buy school supplies when the stores are already sold out of everything you need and there’s no hope they are getting new shipments in because they clear everything out the minute school is in session.  Which is in 5 days.

Bring on the Oreos please.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

2 thoughts on “Bring on the double-stuffed Oreos please”

  1. Hope you are un-cranky soon! Have you tried the super-thin Oreos? I have seen the commercial for them on TV and I just know I would love them. I’m more of a cookie fan than the cream center. Hope you have a great week!

    Like

  2. Hello friend! If I could send you a giant box of oreos, I would do it in a heartbeat! But, please know that this comment is my sort of virtual hug to you!! Hang in there – you are a great mom and a skilled juggler. Praying that the schedules and madness fall into a rhythm for you soon!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

