Driving along in my automohodgepodge…

1. When was the last time you relocated? Did you move yourself or leave it to the professionals? Are you happy staying put or is there a move in your future? Best thing about moving to a new city or town? Least favorite and/or hardest thing about moving house?
The last time we relocated was on March 1 – and we just moved 12 houses down!  We didn’t use professional movers, in fact we literally just rolled our appliances and such down the street.  (My husband was very wise and had the piano and china hutch all moved before I got home from work… otherwise I would have been the one having a heart attack as I saw them roll down the road!)

Definitely my least favorite part of moving is feeling like I ‘Belong” in our new place… figuring out who my hairdresser will be, who my dentist will be, where to shop, who my friends will be, what activities are available, what church to join… all the things that make up your community… starting over.
2. When were you last ‘moved to tears’? Explain.
Last week in church.  It’s just were God meets you sometimes and whispers… and you listen.
3. Do you have rules about eating in the car…any forbidden foods? What’s the last thing you consumed in your car? Your go-to car snack when traveling long distance?

Not many rules per say, but I do have a “no Cheetos or Doritos” rule – I have black upholstery, and enough said there.  The last thing I consumed in my car was some roasted almonds.  My “go-to” snack are Nutter Butters and goldfish crackers.  I know, they are awfully close to my forbidden car foods – but somehow, other than one Mexico Trip Goldfish Massacre of 2014, they stay pretty clean in the car.

4. Share a favorite song relating to cars and/or driving.

I love this version of “Fast Car” – it’s SUCH a great driving (or sitting in your backyard with a glass of wine) song… https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4zCOHFrLVY

5. What’s your most frequently visited drive-thru…Starbucks? the bank? the pharmacy? some other window?

Honestly I don’t do a lot of drive-thus… do gas stations count?  Getting my car washed at Costco?  I guess those would be the most visited…
6. “He who hesitates is lost”…would you agree? When it comes to making decisions do you generally act quickly or do you more often than not fall into the ‘lost’ category?
Yes, there have been many times when I didn’t act and then have regretted it – whether it was a purchase of something unique, saying something to someone, etc.  I generally go with my gut and act quickly, but I would like to think that I’ve also learned when NOT to rush into something.
7. When was the last time you got lost? Was it stressful or an unexpected happy adventure?
Hmmm… I don’t remember the last time I got lost.  Well, maybe for a few minutes last week when Big C and I were trying to find our way around University of California, Irvine campus.  But with GPS and our phones now, we aren’t lost for long.  it’s a nice feeling.  Not too stressful…
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

So the major project I have been working on for our church the last 5 months is almost complete!  Do you HEAR the angels singing?  Because I’m pretty sure I do!  I may go skipping down the halls once it’s all submitted!  Phew!  And my in-laws are coming for a visit this weekend, and my hubby is coming out too, so this yucky summer cold I have right now can just GO AWAY please!  (Thank goodness for antibiotics!)  And on that note, I’m off to bed.  Happy Hodgepodge, friends!

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

5 thoughts on “Driving along in my automohodgepodge…”

  1. Oooh, college tours? Is it that time? So exciting/emotional! Also, I don’t think I’ve been here since you installed the new look. I like it! I haven’t been a very good blogger this summer, but life has required a lot so something had to give. Hoping now that we’re in the apt I’ll get into a routine. Of course the house build will be underway shortly and I’m sure that won’t be distracting at all : )

    Like

  2. Yes! Your man is coming home again! But at the same time as in-laws/ Well , okay, I get it, They ARE his parents. Enjoy . And college campus tours…whoa. Those things need their own zip code (and some have them , right?) and great signage.
    I should be cleaning or grocery shopping. My aunt is coming in 3 hours. I blog when I have too much to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

