Spinning my way into the Hodgepodge…

So I had my first spin class the other night.  More about that later.

For those of you who have taken part in this lovely sort of torture exercise, you can stop laughing at me now.  Because if you’ll recall your first time in one of these classes you will understand when I say – Oh good golly.  Because this is a family friendly blog and I don’t want to say what REALLY was going through my mind.

I sat down last night to write this week’s HP but was so exhausted, I couldn’t put two words together!  But then I woke up uber early – probably because my body was still screaming at me, and also the Lord just knew I needed some quiet time this morning to sit and pray and write my HP… even though it means I won’t be high up on the queue in the HP order, so I may not get as many views… whatever, it’s not about that, right?  It’s about being creative and expanding my thoughts and just being a part of the HP community that has blessed me so many times over!

So with that, lets HP friends…

1.  I recently read here about four secrets to happiness from around the world. They were-

Overcome your fears by facing them head on, allow yourself to relax and reset, work to live versus living to work, and find the good in life. Not sure if these are the actual secret to happiness, but which of the four do you struggle with most? Which one comes most easily to you?

The one I struggle with is facing my fears head on.  There are just some fears i’m ok with having, ya know?  For example, wrestling with crocodiles or taming cobra snakes – not high on my list of fears I want to conquer.  But I do think I have gotten better over the years at pushing through my comfort zones and expanding my horizons, allowing myself to be in situations where I’m not completely in control.  For example – a few years back we went to Hawaii for the first time.  I had never snorkeled before, but everyone else in the family had – in fact my bro-in-law and sis-in-law are both certified scuba divers and work for the Monterey Bay Aquarium.  So yeah, no pressure there!  But did I want to simply sit on the boat while the rest of my family explored the open waters?  Nope.  Did I want to miss out on seeing what was right beneath those gorgeous waters?  Nope.  I’ve seen Nemo, people – I had to see the fishes and turtles for myself!  (Minus Bruce the great white shark, thankyouverymuch)  So, i did it.  I was a little panicky at first – I mean, the boat had us out in the middle of open water and I won’t say that I wasn’t envisioning all kinds of Readers Digest-worthy stories of shark attacks and harrowing ordeals.  But, I did it… and I loved it… and I learned to just GET OFF THE BOAT!  Not that I’m going to tightrope walk across the Grand Canyon or wrangle and alligator or anything – but allowing myself to experience things beyond my control is amazing.  That’s where I allow myself to relax and reset – praying the whole way, allowing myself the freedom to see what God has planned for me next.  That part comes a bit easier.
2. How would you spend a found $20 bill today?
If i found a $20 bill, I would probably use it to buy supplies to make signs for our garage sale this weekend.  My daughter came home from camp with a desire to raise money to build a well in India, and so she has set up a fundraiser called “Well Wishes” and all of the proceeds from this weekend’s sale are going to it.  Pretty exciting!
3. Ego trip, power trip, guilt trip, round trip, trip the light fantastic, or trip over your own two feet…which ‘trip’ have you experienced or dealt with most recently? Explain.
Definitely trip over my own two feet – Like I mentioned, I had my first ever Spin class the other night, and I literally stumbled into the house afterwards.
4. If you could master any physical skill in the world what would it be, and how would you use that skill?
I would love to be coordinated enough to do yoga and gymnastics – for my body to move so easily and be that flexible.  And then I’d love to dance like ANY of the people in the “Shut up and Dance” montage I’m posting in question #7…
5. As July draws to a close, let’s take inventory of our summer fun. Since the official first day of (North American) summer (June 20th) have you…been swimming? enjoyed an ice cream cone? seen a summer blockbuster? camped? eaten corn on the cob? gardened? deliberately unplugged? watched a ballgame? picked fruit off the vine? taken a road trip? read a book?  Are any of these activities on your must-do-before-summer-ends list?
This list helped me feel so much better about my summer, which has been really hard since my hubby is still gone and the kids are at home fending for themselves for the most part while I work.  I’ve been dealing with some major mama guilt over that.  BUT – last week I took the week off to play with friends and family who were visiting, and I swam in the ocean (which, you will recall from reading my answer in #1, is HUGE for me!), I’ve had coconut ice cream at the pier, I’ve seen all of the kids movies that are out for the summer (Loved Jurassic World and Inside Out), I grilled corn on the cob just the other night, planted tomato plants and have eaten their fruits, we went to an Angels ballgame on Friday night, and I’ve read several books.  Yay!  No camping or road trips, minimal unplugging, but all in all, a good summer given the circumstances.
6. The Republican Presidential candidates will debate on August 6th. What’s your question?
– Where would you like to see America in the next 5 years?

– Can we please get rid of Obamacare?
7. What’s your most listened to song so far this summer?
Shut Up and dance With Me by Walk the Moon and Honey I’m Good by Andy Grammar – I mean, how can you not smile and want to dance with your kids, dog, friend, beloved to those songs? 🙂
8.  Insert your own random thought here

So… spin class.  Riding a bike for 45 minutes – how hard can that be, I thought.  Holy schamoley people… lets just say the class was an amazing success simply because:

– I did NOT throw up the Chinese food I had so thoughtlessly eaten right before class, even though at one point that was a very distinct possibility.

– I did not fall off the bike when, after pedaling like a madwoman being chased by a rabid bear through the woods, the instructor then said oh-so-calmly, “Now, while still keeping your rhythm, raise your hands upwards and stretch yoga-style” – Um, does she not know that I can either ride the bike or do yoga, not both at the same time?  (See?  I told you I would love to have the physical ability to be graceful!)  But, I did not fall off.  I was not graceful, but I did not fall.  Which again, was a very real possibility.

When I got home, as I mentioned before I actually stumbled into the house.  Over the single step into the kitchen. Lovely.  My youngest was so concerned “Are you ok Mommy?  Would it help if I walked on your back to loosen the muscles?” So I let him walk on my back – it actually did help – but then I couldn’t get up so he gave me a pillow and a blanket and told me goodnight!  So sweet.  Though I did eventually crawl up the stairs to my bed… slowly…

As for the rest of me, I woke up yesterday morning and promptly sat on a bag of frozen peas.  Enough said.  Ouch.

Can’t wait for the next class!

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

3 thoughts on “Spinning my way into the Hodgepodge…”

  1. Super fun song choices in #7 🙂 And, can I just say that I am super impressed that you volunteered to attend a spin class AND that you are going back after your first experience – go you!!

    Like

  2. I am dying laughing about your spin class experience! I love your humor so very much! I miss laughing with you, Friend…hugs to you and yours…

    Love,
    Erika

    Like

  3. Are you really going back to spin class??? Bruised in the nether region and all? God love ya.
    My kids like to tell me I am an experienced agent for guilt trips. Isn’t it sort of a mother’s job? I mean, if I’m gonna feel guilty son, YOU’RE going to also! Why? Because I said so!

    Thanks for the emails. Very uplifting–like hands in the air on a spin bike!

    Like

Leave a Reply

