Summer vacation Hodgepodge

Ahhh… it’s vacation time.  Ok, not really… but I HAVE taken the last two days off of work to spend with some good friends who were visiting from Texas.  And then I’m taking off most of Thursday and all of Friday to spend time with my brother-in-law who is visiting from Spain.  So here I sit, all pleasantly sun kissed and sandy from two days of beach time, heart overflowing from laughter and hugs from good friends, and I’m looking forward to this weekend with my bro-in-law and family.  It’s good sometimes to just take time off and PLAY, you know?  SO with that, let’s Hodgepodge friends!!  Click on the link below to play along!

1. Is your home air conditioned? If it’s not air conditioned, is that by choice? Did you grow up with air conditioning? If not how did you cope with the heat? Share about a time or place you remember as being too hot-the temperature kind of hot, lest anyone be confused.

Our current home is not air conditioned – and though we don’t need it often here, these last few days it would have been REALLY nice, just saying… we had a hurricane off the coast of Baja California and it made our weather quite rainy and humid and hot!  BUT… I’m not complaining.  The hottest I have ever been was in Las Vegas in August one year – 114 or some ridiculous number… you felt like you were in an oven!

2. What’s something in your life right now that falls under the heading ‘up in the air’?
our future…looks like my hubby’s contract will be extended another 6-12 months, 2000 miles away still.  Sigh.  It’s a short term thing, but sometimes it’s hard to keep your eye on the long term goals and not focus on the right now that is so hard at times.  Sigh.
3. Your favorite light and airy dessert?
Yogurt parfait with shortcake… yummy!!!
4. When did you last feel like you were ‘floating on air’?
Probably last month, when I was going through some difficult things and my hubby surprised me by coming home a week early, knowing that I needed the support!  he’s such a great guy…
5. Airport, airmail, airtight, airhead…which have you most recently encountered? Explain.
Hmmm – Don’t think I’ve encountered any of these lately…
6.  Have you ever been to the Alps? If so where did you go? If not, is this a destination on your must-see list? If you were headed that direction this summer, which of the following would be your preferred activity…a gentle walk, a serious walk, a bike ride, a boat ride around one of the lakes, or summer snow skiing?
Nope, I haven’t ever been to the Alps.  I would love to see them sometime, but it’s not really on my “bucket list” – but if I were headed there, I’d love a bike ride!
7. What is one saying or phrase that was considered ‘cool’ when you were growing up?
“that’s so grody” – as in, that’s so gross…
8. Insert your own random thought here.

No random thoughts.  Good week… days off… good friends and family visiting… beach time… wine and good food… laughter… it’s good, friends.  It’s good.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

6 thoughts on “Summer vacation Hodgepodge”

  1. I’m so GLAD for all the GOOD stuff going on in your neck of the woods (which is more beach than woods, but whatever!). Not so happy about the contract extension from a separation standpoint, though. Short-term often FEELS very long-term, doesn’t it? Let’s put yogurt parfait with shortcake on our list of “must eats” when we meet, shall we? I’m raising my mug of coffee to you for time off and great visits!

    Like

  2. Ummmmm…#2. WHAT!??! Oh, man. Now that I got that out of the way…here: have some virtual hugs! Spread ’em around, Friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

