Being Kind…

1.July 15th is National Give Something Away Day.  What can you give away? Will you?

I can give away compliments.  Food and gas vouchers to the homeless at work.  Tomorrow, though, I will start the day by buying coffee for the person behind me at line at Starbucks.  Pay it forward.

2. Do you have a mantra? Please share with the class if you feel comfortable doing so.

“You don’t need to accept the invitation to every party you are invited to”

– obviously not just talking about literal parties, but also figurative – someone wanting me to engage in their drama or (sometimes literal) craziness… I don’t have to enter into all of that.

3. Who does the grocery shopping in your house? How many times a week do you shop? Do you make a list or pray for inspiration in the produce aisle?

I do the grocery shopping, usually about once a week, or as needed.  Sometimes I will leave a list for my teenager to shop for me, but not very often.  In the produce aisle I usually buy whatever fruit is in season and looks good, but veggies are usually only purchased if I know I need them for my morning omelettes or for a specific recipe.

4. Is there a TV show you’re embarrassed to say you watch? You’re going to tell us what it is, right?
“New Girl” – it’s so silly, so frivolous, and the characters are all so self absorbed and hilarious and inappropriate,  It’s a fun break.

5. A recent article listed fifteen words we should eliminate from our (written) vocabulary in order to sound smarter-

that, went, honestly, absolutely, very, really, amazing, always, never, literally, just, maybe, stuff, things, and irregardless

Of the fifteen, which word is your most overused?

I can’t think of which one I overuse in my written language – but in my spoken words, I most likely use “Maybe” too often.

6. So apparently dying your hair gray (in your youth!) is a thing right now. It’s called ‘The Granny Hair’ trend. Your thoughts? 

I just don’t get it.  When I think of the hundreds of dollars I have spent covering UP my grey hairs, I can’t imagine willingly creating MORE of them!  No thank you!

7. A while back Buzz Feed asked members to share the most beautiful sentence they’ve read in a piece of literature. A hard thing to narrow down, at least for me, but let’s try. What’s one of the most beautiful sentences you’ve ever read in a piece of literature?

“One of the things that makes a dead leaf fall to the ground

is the bud of the new leaf that pushes it off the limb.” ― Jan Karon

8. Insert your own random thought here.

On my heart this week has been the thought of being more generous, and what that means.  Our staff devotion last week touched on generosity.  Our pastor preached on generosity this past Sunday.  yesterday my husband called me from the airport and told me about his visiting with a sweet 90-year-old woman on his flight, and then walking her down to the baggage claim to meet her daughter so she didn’t get lost.  And then today a friend shared this video with me – and it goes along with what I said in question #1 – it really doesn’t take much to surprise people with generosity.  Life is short… be kind.

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

7 thoughts on “Being Kind…”

  1. Hello from Wednesday Hodgepodge. I enjoyed your answers this morning. I do the same thing whenever I drive thru a fast food place, I pay for the person behind me. The clerk always looks surprised when I tell them this. Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  2. Giving away compliments is something you do well, my friend. Keep it up. Like Mark Twain said, “I can live two months on a good compliment.” The last time I wanted to pay for the car behind me in line, I saw it was a landscape crew and changed my mind. Ha! I don’t spontaneously drop $88 on breakfast burritos. Love your mantra! But please say yes to my next invite–you’re invited to my house any time and there might be teenage drama, okay?

    Like

Leave a Reply

