Summer Lovin’ on the Hodgepodge!

Welcome back to the weekly Hodgepodge!  Our pause in the middle of our week to think about random topics, engage in witty (or not so witty) repertoire, and connect with each other.  Click on the link below to see what others in our friendly HP community are saying about these topics, and join in yourself if you feel so inclined!  Today has been a frustrating day, so I welcome the distraction as I sit here with my laptop, fresh back from a walk on the beach with my hubby, a glass of Chardonnay, and The Proposal on the tv!  Lets Hodgepodge!

1. When did you last ‘swim against the tide’? Explain.

Hmmm… some would say that staying with our church, even in the midst of controversy, is swimming against the tide.  Or, staying here in CA trying to make this business work, even when the chips are down and our family is having to sacrifice, is swimming against the tide.
2. What’s the last self-help or self-improvement book you read?
“The Zero Belly Diet” – all about reducing your sugar intake and exercising correctly and yadda yadda yadda… It actually was a good book.  Now I just need to do what it said to do!


3“Tolerance is a tremendous virtue, but the immediate neighbors of tolerance are apathy and weakness.” (Sir James Goldsmith) 
Agree or disagree? Discuss. With civility please, because I think we have a good thing going in our very diverse (in geography, age, religion, political persuasion, ethnicity, marital status, upbringing, and cooking abilities) neighborhood here on This Side of the Pond.

What an interesting quote – I would have loved to see this in our college debate class all those years ago!  That aside, I have to disagree.  Just because one is “tolerant” of a particular religion, lifestyle, belief set, does not mean that they are in danger of being unwilling to stand up for what they themselves believe and hold dear, defending their choices.

4. What is one of your most vivid memories of the kitchen from your childhood?
My parents did a complete remodel of our house pretty much through all of my elementary years, and, contractors being the way they are, things got delayed quite a bit. … Quite. A. Bit.  So, my memories of the kitchen are varied between what it was when I was little (decorated in olive green, mustard yellow 1970s motif), to being transplanted into the living room as we underwent the remodel – washing dishes in the bathtub, a long “table” made out of an old door we had stretched across the fireplace hearth, my brother in his high chair banging a spoon on the tray, and then to the final remodel, early 1980s linoleum and dark wood cabinets with white tile counter top and dark brown grout.
5. How did/do your own children’s summers compare with your summers as a child? If you’re not a parent, answer as it relates to what you’ve observed about the current generation of children vs. your own childhood.
Our summers are pretty similar, actually, other than we don’t camp with our kids the way my parents did with us.  Our kids have chore charts to complete each day, they do sports or school classes sponsored by the city, they play sports, we go on vacation to visit family or up to the family beach house, and they do Vacation Bible School at our church.  Obviously the current generation has more electronic devices to occupy/distract/bugthecrapoutofme… but our core values are the same.
6. Tell us what body of water you would most like to be on or near today, and why?
Well, I just walked on the beach tonight – doesn’t get much better than that.  my hubby and I were actually commenting on how walking on the beach touches all of the senses – the sight of the waves and sun and boats and seagulls, the smell of the seaweed and salt and clean air, the feel of the wind on your skin, the sound of the waves crashing and gulls overhead.  But, I’d love to be at our family beach house 6 hours away… same ocean, but a vacation spot where we really do just let everything go… it’s bliss.
7.  Share a favorite song about water, or a favorite song with the word water in it’s title, or a favorite song to listen to as you sit beside the water.
It’s got to be this one… ahhhh….It’s the version of “Sailing” by Christopher Cross, only done by NWYNC – My friend John made me a mix tape (yes, a MIX TAPE) a bajillion years ago with this on it, and I absolutely love it.  It takes me away.  No pun intended.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

One thing we do with our kids in the summer is go see movies.  We’ve already seen Jurassic World and Inside Out.  (Both really good!)  This weekend we may go see the Minion Movie.  It’s fun when there are actually decent movies to go see!  So, I leave you with a fun trailer for Inside Out… a good movie that promotes great discussion with your kids!  Have a great rest of your week, friends!

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

6 thoughts on “Summer Lovin’ on the Hodgepodge!”

  1. I miss you. Please hug the familia for me. And Little and I saw Inside Out and loved it. And also, please come get us: time to go sailing away from here! And also, I miss you. But I said that already, huh? Sigh…

    Like

  2. Oh, mix tapes, I remember those! I agree about the beach, one of my favorite places, hands down. Weren’t the colors used for kitchens so funny in the 70s?!

    Like

  3. When I read the last question (before I even got to the end of the question) “Sailing” was already playing in my head… but it WAS the Christopher Cross version (ha, ha). Also, I just saw Jurassic World and Inside Out last weekend and completely agree that they were both fun movies! I hope you are enjoying your summer!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

