A Memorable Hodgepodge!

1.  Did you do anything ‘memorable’ this past weekend?

Well, THIS GUY came into town a week early, surprising the kiddos and I!  (OK, he actually told me the day before, but STILL!)  Woot Woot!  So we had an awesome weekend of family time, playing on the beach, kayaking, paddle boarding, watching movies, worshipping together in church, grilling out, etc. etc. etc.  Quite memorable…

11329812_10206920050065778_6801680996970277412_n

Isn’t he cute? 🙂

2. Ronald Reagan is quoted as saying-
 
“Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn’t pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same.”  

Your thoughts? Do you somehow acknowledge and appreciate the freedoms you enjoy? Did your upbringing contribute to that sense of appreciation? If you’re a parent, are there specific things you do to pass on this sense of responsibility and appreciation to your own children in regard to the freedoms they enjoy?

Being a military spouse for 14 years will certainly bring it home as to what your freedoms cost, and what those in the military sacrifice, for our freedoms, which we take for granted.  And, let me just say… there are sacrifices eternal, as in giving your lives, but there are others who are changed forever, mentally, physically, emotionally… those are sacrifices that are given for our freedoms that aren’t always acknowledged.

But that is why we support our military.  Why we support our misisonaries, free trade and human trafficking initiatives, etc.  We as Americans have it so, so good.  We have no idea.


3. Loudest noise you’ve ever heard?

The sound of freedom, baby! 🙂 (and also, the sexiest jet ever… just saying…)

4. What was the last thing you ate that might be considered ‘junk food’? Did you enjoy it?
I honestly don’t ever eat junk food…  but does the Tiramisu from our local Italian restaurant count?  Yes?  Then ok… yes, it was absolutely delicious.  Yummy…..
5. When was the last time you were somewhere the crowd felt ‘packed in like sardines’?
Ugh – thankfully I can’t remember the last time that I was in a place that crowded!  I get SO claustrophobic in situations like that…

6. Are you organized when it comes to packing for a trip? Do you make a list weeks in advance or toss items in last minute? Are you a carry-on only sort of packer or do you need an entire suitcase for your shoes?
I tend to be last minute, but I like carry-on only if possible…  depends on the length of the trip.
7. What was the last sporting event you attended in person? Did your team win? Did you care?
The Angels game last summer.  Our team won.  Yay!  (Hey, I live in Orange County now, I guess I’d better care – though a big part of me is still partial to my LA Dodgers – right Papa?!)

8.  Insert your own random thought here…

Your mid-week funny!  Dogs who fail at being dogs…

Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

8 thoughts on “A Memorable Hodgepodge!”

  1. Well said about our freedoms! And thank you to your family and the sacrifice you make to give us those said freedoms!! I agree with the loudest noise ever! When I hear those jets above our heads, my heart jumps a beat, not from the noise, but for what they stand for. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

  2. Ok…so that picture of you and your hubby is so sweet! I’m thrilled to hear you got to spend some quality time together! I know you’re heart is full!

    Like

  3. That hubby of yours is so sweet! What a great surprise! And 3 cheers for Reagan!! And I love you guys! ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  4. Those dogs are the klutziness I’ve ever seen. I needed the laugh. Tiramisu …another thing we must share (not literally, but you one, me one) when we get together. Thanks again for your sacrifices as a military family. Seriously.

    PS the only email from you was about hubby’s surprise visit.

    Like

  5. What a lovely surprise for you, sounds like you had a great reunion. Thanks for sharing the video. The clip with the dog and the tennis ball on the sofa was toooo funny.

    Like

  6. Yay for nice surprises! So glad you had a great weekend with your familiy. Do you like your paddleboard? I’d like to try it I think. It doesn’t look too hard, but sometimes these things are harder than they appear : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

