A much better Hodgepodge…

Thankfully a much better week than last week – boy, that was a doozy!  God is good, friends.  Bring peace where there is chaos… words where there are none… and silence where it is needed.  So now, with a deep sigh of contentment, lets Hodgepodge!

1. When is your next big deadline? What’s it for?

As you know, I am not only our church receptionist and Family Ministries Administrator, but I am also a Deacon.  In a couple of weeks we have a New Members Class, and I need to create a new brochure for it – letting people know how to use our online directory.  It’s a bit daunting – but it’s due in 10 days, so I’d better hop to it and GET IT DONE ALREADY!
2. May is National Barbecue Month. Do you prefer cooking indoors or out? What’s the best thing about a barbecue? What’s the last thing you cooked on an outdoor grill?
I love cooking outdoors!  I think everything tastes so much fresher cooked outside!  In the summer especially, when our schedules are more relaxed and it’s hot and I don’t want to turn on the oven or cook over a hot stove… I love cooking on the grill outside and then eating on our patio.  We cooked hamburgers a few weeks ago.  YUmm…
3. What is one thing on your “never again” list?
Never again will I look at a chance to serve as an inconvenience.  Humbled today.
4. What’s something that annoys you about people your own age? Something you love about your generation?
Something that annoys:  the constant obsession with their i-devices.  And yes, I’m as guilty as the rest of them.
Something I love:  the fact that it was our generation that ushered in the internet and made it accessible to everyone in every home.  Pretty darn amazing.
5. Lilac, iris, hyacinth, pansy…your favorite purple flower?
I love pansies – mainly because when we lived in colder climates they were the hardy ones that could be planted as soon as spring whispered in the air, but were hardy enough to withstand the snows that inevitably came the minute I planted them in the ground!
6. Whats a song that always calms you down?
This one:  .
One of my favorite songs to play on the piano as well.
David Nevue – The Gift
7. What’s the last thing you donated?
Our church is serving at a camp in Mexico that serves as a church to gypsy Mexitecan workers.  It is truly humbling, in every sense of the word.  Transient.  Illiterate.  Don’t speak Spanish, but their own version of the language and they can’t read or write.  And yet this camp has a service every Saturday that is a VBS style service, almost a school – and they serve 150+ children every Saturday.  And they have nothing.  So… I have gone through my children’s closets and dressers and have gathered shoes, clothing, toys.  We have so much.  They have so little.  And while they definitely teach me that you don’t need “things” to be happy… maybe I can help them be a little more comfortable.  It’s something… right?
8. Insert your own random thought here.
I won’t go into details on how last week ended up… but a huge thank you for all of the prayers.  They mean everything to me.
Here’s a pic of my kiddos and I on Mothers Day – aren’t they sweet?!
IMG_1633
Now – on a different topic – we have at least two bunny rabbits that have decided our yard is a good place to live.  In truth, they are very cute.  BUT – it appears they are killing our grass.  Anyone have any good (humane) ideas on how to encourage them to live elsewhere?  We live in the hills, so there are lots of little critters around…
Bunny friend
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

5 thoughts on “A much better Hodgepodge…”

  1. Get a dog! They will get the very fur scared off of them and not return. Cute, though, that face in your window! And your doting children are also. I’m with you on what I love about our generation. Not sure how I missed that part of the question when I answered. I’m sure you’ll be wearing one of the heaviest, shiniest, most colorful crowns in heaven when you get there! You do so much for others.

    Like

  2. Sweet pic of the kids! About the bunnies, I don’t know if it will work for them, but it works for my dogs: When I don’t want them in a certain flowerbed (that they think was put there just for them to lie in!), the I take votive cups, insert a couple cotton balls, and saturate them with ammonia. It works amazingly well! Interesting reading about the work in Mexico. I firmly believe that every teenager should visit a third-world country to see how most of the world lives.

    Like

  3. Why is your font so big? I had to lean back a bit. Anyhow it looks like you had a great moms day! 🙂 I agree people are so hooked to their electronic devices now, communication in person seems to be more rare. Yes i am one of those too! ;o

    Like

  4. No advice for the rabbits I’m afraid. That’s a nice cause to support. Looks like you had a good Mother’s Day. Ours was back in March.

    Like

Leave a Reply

