A reluctant Hodgepodge…

Two things.  First – I really wasn’t going to do today’s Hodgepodge.  I had a crummy day yesterday, and just. wasn’t. feeling. it.  For many reasons.  Secondly – you know I’ve been doing the Hodgepodge for a couple of years now.  And in that time, have come to know several of the fellow weekly Hodgepodgers like family.  A handful in particular, will email me if I haven’t posted to see if I’m ok, our emails to each other go beyond the weekly Hodgepodge and into praying for each other and sharing our lives – even though we have not physically met.  It’s a God-thing, this little community and the blessings that come with it.  So – this Hodgepodge is for you, Zo… you encouraged me in your email this morning to do the questions, even if I didn’t feel like it.  You are probably right.  And I”m nothing if not stubborn – issue me a challenge, and I”ll rise to meet it!  Here’s to you, Zo.  Love ya.

1. What’s a phrase your mother often said to you? If you’re a parent, is this something you now say to your own children?

“Clean your room!”  or “You can’t go out and play until your chores are done” and yes, these are both things I say now, obviously!

Funny story – so my deal with my hubby is that now that I”m working full time and he is working 2000 miles away, I get a housecleaner twice a month.  Bliss.  Last week our cleaners were coming, so I told the kids to straighten up their rooms – at which point my smart-mouthed teen boy said “But isn’t that the cleaner’s job?”  I just stared at him, and very slowly, very quietly said “It is NOT their job to pick up your moldy socks and underwear that shouldn’t be on the floor in the first place.  There is no way I pay them enough for that.  Their job is to dust and vacuum and change the sheets and make your room look like a teenage behemoth does NOT live here!”  To which he responded “Oh.  Ok.”  Message received.  (I have also told my kids that if they aren’t willing to do their part – putting clothes away, etc. then I will put a post-it note on their door telling the cleaners not to clean in there.  I haven’t had to do it yet!)
2. What is a scent you associate with your mother or your childhood home?

Gardenias, because we had a gardenia bush right outside our front door.
3. What’s an activity you remember always doing with your mother (or someone who was a mother figure in your life)?

4. Flared jeans, maxi dresses, and jumpsuits are 70’s fashion trends back this spring. Are you on board? Which trend would you be most inclined to try? For the men…flared corduroys, wide-collared shirts, and floral prints…what say you? 
I don’t mind the flared jeans – they look cute with boots!  I’d love the ease of the maxi dress. but I’m too short to pull it off well.  Jumpsuits – ugh, no thank you.  You have to undress completely every time you have to use the bathroom, and I would feel like I was in one of those one-piece outfits that are adorable on toddlers, but not so much on 40-somethings.
5. May 6th is Teacher Appreciation Day and also Nurse Appreciation Day. Is there a nurse or teacher  you have especially appreciated along the way? Tell us why?
I LOVED my labor and delivery nurse when I had my Little C.  She was British and motherly and wonderful.
6. If I came by your house, what would I find on your frig door?
A message center – with our family calendar and some graduation announcements.  Not much else though – I try to keep it clean looking.
7. Princess Charlotte Elizabeth Diana made her royal entrance on Saturday, May 2nd. On a scale of 1-10, how much attention did you give to all the news coverage? 1=Who’s Charlotte? 10=sat glued to the telly, cuppa in hand.
I’ll give it a 5 – I was curious, of course, even if my hubby thinks all of the hoopla is ridiculous.  (And I LOVE her name.  Good choice!)
8.  Insert your own random thought here.
So… yuckiness.  to say the least.
A high school friend lost her husband in a car accident on Sunday, leaving behind my sweet friend and their three young children.  One of my prayer partners in Idaho has an adult son who tried to take his life this weekend and is in the critical care unit.  My husband and I have had to take a difficult stand for the protection of ourselves and our children, but in doing so have upset other family members who do not support our decision.
My heart is hurting.  Please lift my friends and my family in prayer.  Being an adult sucks sometimes.
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

6 thoughts on “A reluctant Hodgepodge…”

  1. I’m sorry you’re hurting, friend. Sorry life sucks sometimes . Your poor friends–oh my word, how tragic for both families! And I am well acquainted with the unpopular stands with family on various subjects. It’s terrible! Lord Jesus, come quickly! Thanks for doing the HP so that we, your friends, can share in your suffering. We all have heavy hearts from time to time or are stressed to the max, so it’s good to be humble and ask others to help carry the load in prayer. Just don’t ask me to pick up moldy socks and boys’ underwear!! Love has it’s limits you know!! I don’t even know if I love my own son that much!! Just kidding. Sort of. You’re a wonderful mom . Bask (autocorrect said “bark”) –bask in the everlovin’ glow of your cherubs this weekend. Or bark. You’ve earned the right to choose.

    Like

  2. Praying for you and yours, your two friends and their families, and just in general. Being an adult does definitely suck sometimes–we have some of that over here right now, too. You are loved, my distant but very dear Friend…
    Love,
    E

    Like

  3. Sally, you have made the ONLY choice in your family situation. I admire your courage, fortitude and faith. Wasatch had a similar situation, swept it under the table, didn’t name names and now it is coming back to bite them. Truth telling and protecting your children is the only authentic, honest thing to do. And those are Christian values that you must stand by. Grace and mercy, dear one.

    Like

  4. I too am sorry for your pain. This world tests us all, some days are worse than others. But, if you go to God for strength, and do what is right in your heart, especially for your kids. You will get through. I have been hit with some sad news lately too… friends with medical issues, and sudden deaths. How do people make it without faith??

    Like

  5. I’m so sorry for all the pain and grief you’ve experienced. And family. Sometimes they can be tricky. I think our first priority is always to the ones we birthed so if you need to set some boundaries with extended that’s okay. I will add the families you mentioned to my prayers today. I’m glad you shared…hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

