Uniformly Hodgepodge…

Hey there friends!  Thanks for joining me back at our weekly Hodgepodge!  I’m so grateful that Joyce provides these questions every week – not only is it a fun creative outlet, but I’ve made some wonderful friends in this community.  I dream of someday actually meeting some of these friends in person – what fun a Hodgepodge Retreat would be!  Hey Joyce – maybe we should put one together after your hubby retires and your dream home is built and a bajillion other things fall into place!

In the meantime, lets Hodgepodge! 🙂

1. Have you ever had to wear a uniform? If yes, tell us more. Did you love it or hate it?
My first uniform (other than Brownies/Girl Scouts) was when I was a volunteer at our local hospital.  I was a candy striper – a term that really had nothing to do with my duties, which were mainly to deliver cafeteria-smelling meals to people.  Here was my uniform:
UnknownThat’s not me, by the way… thanks Google images… you’d have to put braces and awkward glasses on the poor girl to make her look like me.  I didn’t particularly love the uniform.  But I liked helping people!
My son now volunteers at our hospital in town, and he has really cool looking tropical print scrubs.  Much cooler than my pinstriped uniform, which is now hanging in the Archive Hall of my hometown hospital.  Don’t know how I feel about that.
My second uniform was at my first job, at the Blue Chip Cookie Company.  I had to wear a tie.  A TIE!  Did I know how to tie a tie?  no, I did not.  Did I ever learn how to tie a tie properly?  No, I did not.  God only knows how I looked the entire time I worked there.  I’m just saying… if you require your 16-year-old employees to wear a tie, you should at least provide a handout or video or something that shows them how to tie a tie.  After all, this was before Pinterest and YouTube, people!
2. April 22nd is Earth Day. What is one thing you do personally to be a good steward of planet Earth?

I recycle all of our glass and plastic, even bringing items home from work so they can be recycled.  I’m planting low-water plants in my yard.  I unplug devices that aren’t used all the time instead of leaving them plugged in.
3. Brown rice, quinoa, or couscous…your healthy grain of choice? How often are one of the three on your menu at home?  Given a choice between white rice, brown rice, wild rice, and fried rice which would you go for? 
My grain of choice – quinoa.  We usually have one of these at least once a week.  As to what I prefer, it really depends on what it is going with.  You’ve got to have fried rice with Chinese food, brown rice with Mexican food, wild rice if you need a carb with your meal but don’t want it all beige on your place, and white rice if you are having meat with good sauce that can soak in and make it tasty.
I don’t think I have ever spent this much time thinking about rice.
4. In your opinion, who has the best job ever?

Anyone who genuinely loves their job, feels like they are making a difference in the world around them, and is content, has the best job ever.
5. What’s a situation in your life currently requiring patience? 
It’s looking like my hubs’ job is going to be extended a few months longer than what I was anticipating.  I’m disappointed, I mean, he hasn’t even seen this house all put together!  I know in the scheme of things, it’s a good thing – getting paid is a good thing, after all – but I can’t help but be a little disgruntled.  Patience indeed.
6.  Do you live your life around days of the week? Explain.

A little bit – with kids in school, and a work schedule, it’s hard not to know the various days and what they bring!  Never enough time to get the “little stuff” done… no matter what the day.
7. In a nod to the A to Z challenge happening around town this month, what ‘R word’ best describes your April? 
Ridiculous!  Spring break – one child in Mexico, one in palm springs, one with me in Missouri, now going to see my in-laws this weekend in Utah, then next week going to Mexico on a mission trip… on top of a massive work project I’m in charge of… it’s nuts!
8. Insert your own random thought here
So last week Joyce asked us what the last “crafty” thing we had done was, and i was really sad when I couldn’t come up with anything!  In between working and moving, I haven’t even found my craft supplies, much less done anything with them!  But THEN… I got the summer Pottery Barn catalog in the mail.  And i LOVED the lanterns on the cover page… but, like so many things Pottery Barn, I did NOT love the price.
But check them out!
grayson-lantern1
Cute, right?  Oooh, ahhh… Pottery Barn…
But then I thought – HEY!  I have the lanterns (thank you Lowes, only $7!) and I have the flameless battery candle (thank you Michaels!)  All I need to do is get some seashells and nautical rope (thank you, I live at the beach, and also have a Michaels down the street)  – so, here is my version that I made tonight!
IMG_1556
Not bad, if I do say so myself!  And, all for the bargain price of $15… as opposed to the $70 at Pottery Barn.  yay!
Hope you have a good week friends!!
Published by

dshenry5

Well hello there! Thanks for stopping by! I'm a God loving, glass-is-half-full kind of woman who loves coffee, good chocolate, and walks on the beach. I've got three amazing kiddos and a hubby of 21 years who all keep me on my toes. An Air Force family for 14 years, we are now living in southern CA and slowly adjusting to life back in the "civilian" world. Our adventures are far from over, and life is not always easy, but we're in this together and God's got the ultimate plan, so who can ask for anything better than that?

4 thoughts on “Uniformly Hodgepodge…”

Leave a Reply

